Home

Image Transfers

February 23, 2009

c-iverson-class

This past weekend I was in a workshop with Carrie Iverson, ‘Image Transfers for Glass’.  I did a lot of similar printing on cloth when I worked with fibers and was interested in how the process would relate to glass.  I’ve tried screen printing, another form of transferring imagery, but it’s so messy in my tiny studio that I tend to not do it unless absolutely necessary for the project.  

I loved this process.  It’s simple, direct, and only a little messy.  I especially liked the use of non-toxic materials.  I have an upcoming project for which this technique will be perfect!

The above images I printed in class are Carrie’s.  She brought an assortment for students to use so we could focus on playing with the material.  I liked the rope imagery that appears heart shaped, then printed a second latticed rope image atop.  Double ropes over heartshape…. made me think about different forms of  love (hearts) and how they can be all tied up or fenced in.

One Response to “Image Transfers”

  1. Toni Says:

    I’ve missed out on a lot on your blog, Linda! I was sick last week and wasn’t doing much of anything other posting my daily photo. This is such a cool technique.


Leave a Reply

