Home

Youthful Art of Healing Installed!

February 24, 2009

installed-copy

Still learning my way around the Blog, I am revisiting this project now that it’s installed, after learning how to post so you can ‘click to enlarge’.  You may have to click twice, and once you get to the  larger photo there should be a magnifying glass, allowing you to enlarge once again.  It’s well worth the look.  I’m so proud of the high school students who made these tiles for our panels.  

I finished fabricating the panels Sunday night and  installed, then edited this post on Thursday!  They had to lie flat during transport so I made 5 separate trips into Hood River.  I couldn’t build a safe and reliable apparatus to transport all 5 panels together over my bumpy curvy mountain road.

The grand opening is Saturday, March 7th, noon until 4pm, to see the artwork that has been produced through Arts in Education, as well as the new wing of the Providence Hood River Memorial Hospital in Hood River.

If you’re coming in from out of town, come on Friday night to attend the opening at the Columbia Art Gallery show ‘Art Heals from Birth to Death’, from 6 to 8pm, where my ‘SunDrop’ series will be displayed.  The pieces are finally in the kiln being shaped into bowls today and tomorrow!

One Response to “Youthful Art of Healing Installed!”

  1. Toni Says:

    I left a comment somewhere, but I’ll repeat it here:
    Really wonderful work here, Linda! You can tell the kids where highly influenced by the area in which they live, with the river and mountains represented in many of their tiles. I’ll see what my schedule is this weekend and I’ll try to get over for the opening. Hugs to you!


Leave a Reply

