Home

Shades of Purple

March 16, 2009

 

Shades of Purple

Shades of Purple

Shades of Purple is another bowl in my celestial series that speaks to my personal observations.  It’s the sunrise and the sunset.  The beginning and the end.  Swirled together into a large spiral with little gold stars denoting my attachment to glitteratzi.  And the golden paths that we all follow.

This bowl is made with six shades of Bullseye purple powder atop a clear iridescent substrate.  I  form most of my bowls with a drop ring, because I like having control of the shape.  If you’re unfamiliar with kilnforming, a drop ring is a flat ceramic ‘donut’, often used to form vases.  The ring is positioned inside the kiln, on stilts with the glass disc centered atop.  The glass drops through the ring, or ‘donut hole’ as I slowly apply just enough heat to soften the glass and form the shape.

2 Responses to “Shades of Purple”


  1. Hi Linda!
    You have pick my favorite color, purple! And this is gorgeous. I think I am starting to develop a better understanding of frit usage and to see work like this just inspires me. Wow. Love it.


  2. Hi linda, thank you for joining fiddlewiddle and I must say that you do absolutely amazing work, Keep up the beautiful work you’re doing. An amazing talent like yours is one in a million.


Leave a Reply

