Home

Sky at Dusk

March 22, 2009

 

Summer Sky

Summer Sky

The dark blue sky at dusk with red undertones was the inspiration for this piece.  It sold right away and I meant to get back to this series to make more variations on the theme.

Using powdered glass in cobalt blues with a ring of red just inside the lip, I drew large spirals into the powder blending the colors.  By now, you know the spiral appears in a lot of my work.  The golden trees are hand drawn, representing my surroundings.  Living in the Columbia River Gorge, there is much to be inspired by.   I think I’ll get back to this series right after the Glass Craft & Bead Expo.  

For now, I’m still acquiring and packing up supplies for my students at the Expo, so please forgive the lack of daily posts.  I’m excited, as always to be going back to Las Vegas & meeting new students each day.  I hope I can inspire them to work with powdered glass in new ways.

5 Responses to “Sky at Dusk”

  1. Candace Says:

    That is exquisite! Almost looks like an Arizona sunset, too.

  2. Toni Says:

    I think this is a new favorite, Linda. You definitely need to revisit this series.


  3. Hi Linda!

    I love seeing the amazing things you do with glass. Wish I was going to Vegas, I would love to take one of your classes!

    Enjoy the Expo and I am most definitely looking forward to seeing more of this series. Gorgeous.


  4. Gosh, you’re all making my head swell! My classes in Vegas are almost filled. I know there’s still room in Saturday’s ‘Clay Play’ class. I am scheduled to teach for D & L in July, maybe we’ll meet when I’m in your part of the country, Kathleen!


  5. Wow, that sounds great Linda! I’ll have to check out the class schedule at D & L.

    BTW, I’ve nominated you for a Lemonade Award, details on my blog (http://kathleenkrucoff.blogspot.com/2009/03/lemonade-award.html). I’m so happy I’ve ‘met’ you online.


Leave a Reply

