Home

Three is Better Than One

May 31, 2009

 

Triple Splash

Triple Splash

Triple the splash, triple the color, triple the number of birds that will be flocking to enjoy this colorful functional art in your garden.  This is the project I’ve been working so hard on the last two weeks.  I couldn’t just make 3 bowls, had to make 20 so I could audition each one in each holder to see which combination I liked best.  The photo above is the combination I like today ~ tomorrow may be different.

I designed the frame first, as I knew if I were to make it in time for the show, I’d have to find a welder who could produce my vision within a quick 2 week time frame!  Susan Kline  was my first choice, as she’s also a glass artist & would understand what I wanted.   The frame that she produced is my drawing exactly!  Kudos, kudos, kudos.  Susan  has been working on an 8′ gate for months & I hope at the time of this posting that gate is finally installed!

I use a local powder coater for all the supports I’ve had made.  Mark Windsor gave me two of those rings filled with hundreds of color choices.  Lucky for me, he had an actual sample of the sparkly metallic stars I was drawn to.  That choice wouldn’t have looked as beautiful as the combination bronze/black reminding me of tree bark that I ultimately decided upon.  

As soon as I knew the frame was underway, I began a series of bowls.  Colorful bowls that would stand out in a garden, pretty as flowers, and iridescent as morning dew.  Watching all the flowers bloom in my own garden this spring, I was inspired by the rainbow of color I had forgotten exsisted.  Combining color and function, I’m calling this series ‘Splash’.  

Come to the opening at Columbia Arts to see my bird bath, ‘Triple Splash’, as well as the standard single baths & flower fairies.  First Friday, June 5th from 6 to 8pm.  Also in conjunction with this show, on Saturday, June 6th from 2:30 to 4pm, award winning landscape designer Marion McNew of Mount Hood Gardens will be giving a lecture titled “The Art of Garden Making”.  She is an incredible designer & not to be missed!  I was fortunate to have her come to my garden for a consultation after being on her waiting list for close to a year!

This month’s art show is presented in partnership with the Master Gardener’s ‘Secret Garden Tour’ of seven gardens in Hood River, OR, and White Salmon, WA on Saturday, June 13, from 10 am to 4 pm.

 

Another View

Another View

Hope to see you at the opening, but if you can’t make it, the show runs through June 30th.

5 Responses to “Three is Better Than One”


  1. Hi Linda,

    Well, I’ve been anxiously waiting to see what this was going to look like and you definitely did not disappoint! WOW, what a great concept and just a beautiful sculpture. Love it.

    And how nice that you had the collaborative efforts of others to put it all together. Super.

    Giving you a standing ovation.


  2. Hi Linda,

    This is my second try at posting…think I’m having some glitches today.

    I anxiously awaiting this and the result is most definitely worth the wait. LOVE THIS.

    And how great is it to have some collaborative efforts involved with this. What a great idea and such fun to be able to switch out colors as the garden setting evolves.

    Standing ovation to you!


  3. Kathleen, thank you so much! And I love that you said it twice!

  4. Toni Says:

    These turned out awesome, Linda!! Even better that you have someone local to do the metal work for you and that she’s able to follow through on your vision.

  5. Candace Says:

    Those are lovely, lucky birdies!


Leave a Reply

