Home

Afterglow of the Art Festival ….

July 21, 2009

The Farm ~ a B & B

The Farm ~ a B & B

The Trout Lake Art Festival, held the 3rd weekend every July, is located at The Farm, a B & B at the base of Mt. Adams.  A gorgeous setting if rustic, surrounded by flowers, sunshine, and tents filled with artists and their ware.  I’d rather have one original unique handcrafted piece than 20 objects that everyone else in my neighborhood has.  This is the place to find that one and much much more!

My booth is set in the barn as I no longer do outdoor shows.  I know I miss a lot of good shows but I’ve paid my dues sitting outdoors in the heat, the wind, the rain & cold.  Not many know I’ve sold my handcrafted work in one form or another since I was 16 years old.  Marian, my best friend’s mom took us to a summer art camp for kids where we learned how to macrame’ and tie dye among other things.  My friend & I put those techniques together and made tie dyed macrame belts.  Marian then took us to the Rose Bowl Swap Meet in Pasadena to sell them after we’d made hundreds for everyone we knew & still couldn’t stop making them!  I know that’s what sparked my desire to create and sell beautiful objects.   I’ll let you guess my age & do the math, as I type on….

Steider-Studios-Booth

Inside the barn is the coolest place to be, mid July!

I’ve known some of the other artists at this festival for a very long time, selling together at various venues throughout the gorge.  Others I only know at this particular festival and relish catching up with them during our annual reunion.  Some of us trade artwork, or information about good shows to do & marketing information.  We help one another during the course of the weekend in any way possible and have formed strong bonds.

Our hosts, Rosie & Dean are incredibly wonderful to all the artists, providing a unique place to show our work, liquid refreshment, welcoming hugs and so much more .  This year Dean gave us all a cd made by his friend, D.C. Anderson.  The Trout Lake Arts Council sponsors the show & makes sure everyone is comfortable, providing snacks, troubleshooting, availing credit card purchases for those who need it; and at times even help us load in & out!

Touch the Sky with Karen & Harry

Touch the Sky with Karen & Harry

My friends Karen & Harry of Touch the Sky recently went to Paris & brought me back the eiffel tower!  How thrilling to receive a gift while working a show!!  Thanks Karen & Harry!

Because I live in this area, it’s always like ‘old home week’ for me, seeing many old friends that I’ve not seen in awhile!  They come through looking at & buying art, give me a break from my booth from time to time & we try to catch up, making plans for the upcoming next few weeks.

Mt. Adams

Mt. Adams

Early morning photos before the festival opened of just a few of the artists that were at the Trout Lake Art Festival this year:

Louisa Emerson Harris

Louisa Emerson Harris

Jill Warila

Jill Warila

Dan Noble & Elsie Petrequin Noble

Dan Noble & Elsie Petrequin Noble

I’ll be in my garden for a little R & R now… Refreshing my imagination and Reloading the creative spirit!  Enjoy the work of my friends & fellow artists…

The Uncommon Woman, Jeanne & Gwen

The Uncommon Woman, Jeanne & Gwen

Zewei O'Connor

Zewei O'Connor

Touch the Sky
Horn Glassworks

Horn Glassworks

Harry, of Touch the Sky
Carl & Susan Granados

Carl & Susan Granados

Charlene Rivers

Charlene Rivers

Sunday Morning

Sunday Morning

You may have to ‘Google’ some of those without web pages or blogs:
Louisa Emerson Harris
Jill Warila:  www.made in the gorge.com
Dan Noble & Elsie Petrequin Noble
The Uncommon Woman, Jeanne & Gwen:  www.uncommonwomanpresents.com
Zewei O’Connor:  www.zeweioconnor.com
Harry Horn
Karen Saro Troeger & Harry Troeger:  http://www.touchtheskybooks.com/
Carl & Susan Granados:  www.delacube.com & http://www.sugrastudio.com
Charlene Rivers:  www.clrivers.com
8 Responses to “Afterglow of the Art Festival ….”

  1. lynn Says:

    Man, what a beautiful spot for the Festival! Love the wild flower fields and mountains!! One of the best ways to spend a day I think! Yep, you’ve got a choice spot INSIDE! Hope you have great success, Linda..and, miss, never give clues about age..haha!


  2. Thanks Lynn, I’ll take your advice, haha!!

  3. jeroldssis Says:

    Oh my gosh! Everything looks so beautiful! I really need to get out of Calif. more often. lol


  4. The Great Northwest IS beautiful!!

  5. Candace Says:

    That is a beautiful setting. I guess if you could guarantee perfect weather that being outside would be fun but weather is seldom perfect.

    I have done only one art show and it was a crappily-organized one where very little was sold by anyone but it was a lot of work so I know you work hard for everything you sell at one of these.


  6. Funny you should say that Candace, as I had help with packing up after the festival & was later told by my helper: “I love going to art festivals but had no idea how much work goes into setting up & tearing down. I’ll look at all the artists & their booths differently at the next one.” There is so much more than what greets the festival goer from the initial organizing of the show to the last box packed up afterwards. Might be fodder for a future post!

  7. Nancy Merkle Says:

    What a lovely place for an arts festival! Thanks for sharing the wonderful pictures–makes me feel like I was there!


  8. Thanks Nancy, I love your work!!


Leave a Reply

