Home

Inspiration~Garden~Painting~Fiber~Glass…

August 5, 2009

Up near the road

Up near the road

My garden is a constant source of inspiration.

Black-eyed Susan

Black-eyed Susan

It’s slowly expanded over 25  years, consuming about an acre.  It’s my sanctuary and I love photographing it’s progress along the way.

Cupid's Dart

Cupid's Dart

My first camera was a Kodak Instamatic that I received as a birthday gift when I was ten.

Verbascum

Verbascum

Over my lifetime of picture taking I’ve spent a fortune on film and camera accessories.  Now I’m grateful for my easy to use point and shoot digital camera!

Delphinium

Delphinium

I use a Nikon Coolpix P80 which is fairly small & lightweight for travel.  It also gives me a lot of features that I used to have with my old 35mm Nikon.

daylily-2

Daylily

I love detail shots, to really see the flowers in my garden.  To submerge myself in the wonder of color, design, pattern, and texture that nature has provided in each and every flower is one of the ways I utilize all the photos I’ve taken.

Gayfeather
Gayfeather

I am then compelled to turn those photos into paintings.  Can’t help myself, I have to.  It’s a yearning, a craving, a need to portray the lines, the color, the darks and lights, as well as the ever present question “Can I convey what I see?”.

Pink Iris
Pink Iris

For me, painting is an exploration of the flower, seeing it with a critical eye, exploring it’s depth, following the movement of line and wondering if I can render that color with my pastels.  It’s joyful to place the first colorful line then immerse myself in the progression.

Sunflower
Sunflower

When I’m painting, time is endless, a vortex of one hour or twenty.  It’s not even me painting, as I’ve gone somewhere else.  Difficult to describe, that sense of being lost in the painting, yet one with it.  No sense of time or place.  A feeling of being lifted to a higher plane, in a lighter place without fatigue and leaving my woes behind.  Nirvana?

Cosmos
Cosmos

When I worked with fibers, I turned the paintings into quilted wall panels with beads, threads and charms as textural enhancements falling away from the hand-dyed fabrics.

Fairy Garden

Fairy Garden

Pansies

Pansies

Poppies

Poppies

Now I translate them to glass.  Directly or indirectly.

Steider.Wildflowers
Steider.Wildflowers

Cake Platter

Cake Platter

Window Wildflowers

Window Wildflowers

Flower Pots

Flower Pots

A couple of my photographer friends, Toni & Chris have inspired me to take more photos and get better acquainted with my camera; and even to post my photos in places like Flickr and Facebook.  So why not here too, sharing with you more of my creative process!

Side-veiw-new-area

Newest seating area

Chris even nudged me to submit photos to Shutter Sisters‘ One Word Project and guess what?  They chose the photo above for August 6th representing ‘Home’!

12 Responses to “Inspiration~Garden~Painting~Fiber~Glass…”

  1. jeroldssis Says:

    I cannot believe the color of those flowers! And oh my…I am in love with that wildflower glass design. Beautiful! I’ve got to get out of California and head north next summer! I can already imagine the pictures I would take…!


  2. Yes, Chris, one of the many reasons to visit the Pacific Northwest is the inspiration factor! I love living here ~ Each new day offers a new inspiration!

  3. jim puzinas Says:

    Another great garden to inspire an artist! Great work!


  4. Thanks so much Jim!!!

  5. nancyB Says:

    what is the name of the black=eyed susan? I have not seen one with that color variation? WOW!

    thanks, nancyB


  6. Thanks for the comment, Nancy, it is beautiful, but I don’t know the variety.

  7. Candace Says:

    Linda, I can’t believe you can do so many different mediums so beautifully! You are truly extremely talented. I love those fiber pieces with little attachments. And the glass pieces, of course. Awesome.

    Congrats on OWP, I think I posted already there.


  8. Thank you so much Candace. I was delighted to get on OWP my first try out!! It was a FUN surprise!

  9. Toni Says:

    Hello, my multi talented friend! I can’t believe I missed this post. You really are truly talented. One of these days I want to see your fabric work in person. Hugs!!!


  10. From one to another, thank YOU Toni! Unfortunately I didn’t keep many of the fiber pieces, but have a stack of photos waiting to get organized one day when I have time!

  11. fairegarden Says:

    What a delightful discovery your blog is! All of the talents you possess, all related to nature in some way or another. I love them all, oohing and aahing over your paintings, and then the glass comes along. You are truly an inspiration. And thanks for the kind words about my hellebore/bee photo. 🙂
    Frances


  12. Thanks for oohing & aahing Frances! I thought I had already picked your blog as one of my favorites on Blotanical, but it hadn’t been recorded. I just re-favored it, so I wouldn’t lose you again!


Leave a Reply

