Home

Sometimes ya just gotta skip!

October 7, 2009

Hollyhock

Hollyhock

Skip work and chores?  Skip meals?  Skip the meeting, or blow off practice?  No, I mean take a friend’s hand or your dog on a leash and skip down the street.  Like you did when you were a kid.  That joyful giggly way of getting down the road a little quicker yet slow enough to take in the sights around you.  Caution:  This activity may cause anyone seeing you to smile or…even laugh.

Autumn Leaves

Autumn Leaves

This week begins a new 6 week entry-level kilnforming class and I looked forward to leading a new group of students into the world of kilnformed glass.  As I sat at the computer printing up handouts, mentally preparing the steps I like to take new students through, I looked out the window and just had to get outside.

Elderberry

Elderberry

Outside into one of the most gorgeous, windless, warm fall days ever.  Outside, into quite possibly the last beautiful day before autumn rains and (shudder) the snows of winter hit.

Treasure

Treasure

My heart begged me to leave the work at hand for a little while, take my beautiful dog who’s not had enough attention for too many days in a row and go for a walk.  A long walk.   It felt so peaceful, not a car passing, no loud lawn machinery, no one else around, just me with my dog, the birds and blue sky.

Berries of Elder

Elderberries lush & full 

Ready for harvest

Ready for harvest

My heart singing, I notice my surroundings with acuity.  It’s so beautiful I have to breathe in with all my senses.  I see the glory of fall surrounding us as we make our way down the road.  Really see it, the sharp lines of each leaf turned red, the achingly bright blue sky.  It’s so still I can hear the silence and the fresh crisp air is intoxicating.  The allure of an elderberry draws me in to touch it.  I feel the texture of the bark and the smooth round berries.

Goldfinch

Goldfinch

As we continued down the road, joy overtook me and I began to skip.  Yes, as in “skip, skip, skip to my Lou, skip to my Lou, my darlin’. I laughed, my dog looked at me as if to say ‘what’s up with that woman now’, but went with the flow and joyfully danced alongside me.

Catching some Rays

Catching some Rays

An hour later I was back to my class preparations, renewed with fresh excitement and tingling energy .

Bumble bee drinking Cosmos nectar

Bumble bee drinking Cosmos nectar

For some, the electric energy of a city, people and cars moving at a fast pace at the feet of skyscrapers are inspiration and gets their blood flowing.

Chickadee

Chickadee

For me, it’s the song of nature in her many forms.  What inspires you?  what makes your heart sing?

Overlooking the Columbia River

Overlooking the Columbia River

Will you skip down the road with me?

If you like this post, sign up to receive an email for future posts so you don’t miss anything.  It’s easy, just click the box at the top right of this page that says ‘Sign me up!” and type in your email.  It’s right under the yellow close-up photo of my work.

9 Responses to “Sometimes ya just gotta skip!”

  1. Diane Says:

    gorgeous post! loved it!


  2. Oh yes, I’ll skip down the road with you!

    Your writing is just delightful. And the pictures so captivating. Thanks for sharing Linda. What a wonderful location you have to enjoy.

  3. robinglasspony Says:

    I need to do that on a regular basis, thank you for reminding me. This fall here is beautiful also as are your photos. Time for some time out!

  4. Diana Bingham Says:

    So very beautiful! Thanks for sharing your heart and your pictures! I’d have loved to join you on your short jaunt and drink in all of God’s beauty. Thanks so much for sharing your day! Diana

  5. jeroldssis Says:

    Oh, how you taunt me with that beauty!! My favorite pic is the very last one…how cute is that?!

  6. Emma Says:

    Many many thanks for sharing those great pictures.Who took the pics? i think the person quite good at it.


  7. Thanks for joining me my friends! After my fun day of skipping, I’ve been in the studio catching up and gearing up for the holiday season but wanted you to know that I appreciate each and every comment!!

  8. fairegarden Says:

    What inspires me? This post!!! Your writing and photos are lyrical and a jolting reminder to seize the moment and take advantage of a sunny day as fall winds down into winter, sooner than we ever expect. Skip to my Lou? It has been way too long, must practice skipping so I don’t fall on my face. I decided to jump on the clay soil to smash it down while planting large drifts of bulbs and nearly could not jump! Now that is just sad. After a while it came back to me, but it was scary to think about not being able to do it. Skipping today, for sure! 🙂
    Frances


  9. Oh Frances you’re too kind and make me blush. I’m glad you’ll be skipping today!


Leave a Reply

