Home

Taking the Scenic Route

January 17, 2010

After a quick half-day Glass Clay class yesterday at GlassHopper Patterns, I decided to take the scenic route home on the old highway along the Columbia River.

It was a cloudy, misty, gray day ~ perfect for photographing landscapes for my 365 One Day at a Time project.

I thought it would clear my mind and provide inspiration for this week in the studio where I’ll be working towards a gallery show, “Red“, opening in February at the Columbia Art Gallery in Hood River.

I know, I know, these shots are all forest-filled greens and white waterfalls; try to think ‘after-image’.  And look at all the red branches and twigs!  Not to mention all the color you can see when squinting your eyes at the falls and forest floor!!

It’s been awhile since I’ve been to the waterfalls and I’d forgotten the powerful sound of  water roaring down the side of a mountain.

When standing in front of a serious waterfall, the roar is deafening, your heart pounds, your eyes are mesmerized by the water dancing downward while the mist cascades over you.

I finally took the lens cap off and started shooting.

Trying to capture the entire landscape as well as smaller, interesting parts of it, I was looking for an interesting angle that hasn’t been noticed before.

In the end, of course it’s all been documented by many others before me, but I had a wonderful time photographing my personal view of a day in the Pacific Northwest.

I hope you enjoy my results and can find inspiration from them.

The top and last photos are Multnomah Falls, in the middle of where I started my tour – at Wahkeena Falls with the rocky bottom; and ended it at Horsetail Falls with the ultra mossy trees.  If you click on the photos you can read the photo titles telling which is which.  Please feel free to comment as I love knowing what you think about what I’m posting.  Whether inspirational landscape photos, glass news and info, upcoming classes or anything else!

If you like this post, sign up to receive an email for future posts so you don’t miss anything.  It’s easy, just click the box at the top right of this page that says ‘Sign me up!” and type in your email.  It’s right under the yellow close-up photo of my work.

8 Responses to “Taking the Scenic Route”


  1. Breathtaking! I love waterfalls. Your photographs are terrific! Thanks for sharing and please continue to do so. I’m a fan.


  2. You’re so kind Kathleen, thank you!

  3. Toni Says:

    Excellent shots, Linda. I especially like the shot of the falls through the mist. I thought the top and bottom images looked like Multnomah – glad for the confirmation. I don’t think I’ve traveled that old highway. I might have to do that sometime. I just Googled Horsetail Falls and saw all the other falls nearby – holy cow!! It’s waterfall heaven over there!


  4. Love, love, love these shots. Favorite was the last one. Just breathtaking. Great job.

  5. Candace Says:

    You saw all those falls in one afternoon?!?! Wow!!!!


  6. I keep checking back to see if you’ve posted more pictures. I’m not too disappointed, I enjoy these water fall shots so much. These are really wonderful.


  7. Thanks Toni, Doris & Candace! Your compliments make my head swell. And Doris, thanks for checking back, I have several unfinished posts that you inspire me to finish. After my current deadline for an upcoming art show, that is. My project failed (you can see it on my 365 blog) so I’ve had to start over with no time to spare!

  8. fairegarden Says:

    Words are inadequate, Linda. These falls are unlike anything I have ever seen, and we have seen Niagra Falls. This is more intimate, yet powerful. Reminds me of Pandora from the movie Avatar. I do see the red. 🙂
    Frances


Leave a Reply

