Home

What’s Up?!

January 29, 2010

Thanks to Doris for prompting me to get another post out.  I think about my next post all the time, but the kiln gods sometimes have a way of interferring with my plans.  Like the above bowl.  If you follow my ‘365 blog, you already know what happened here.  Giant bubble has me starting this project all over.

So here it is again, my second attempt at perfection.  Not that I really think I’ll ever achieve perfection, but we can try, right?!  In the meantime I usually have a Plan B, so besides playing with powders I’ve gone back to ‘Square One’, which you can see below.  Stacks of squares ready to arrange into a sushi plate.

Both of these projects will go to ‘Red’, the February show at Columbia Arts in Hood River.  That is if they turn out!!

Invited to participate in another Hood River show at The Pines 1852 Art Gallery, titled “The Red Alert” I already have these smaller bowls ready to go.

Preparing for two art shows, making hearts for friends, more glass boxes, and photographing one image every day for my 365 project, not to mention posting occasionally on  my garden blog has kept me tremendously busy.

Although I still consider myself inept at all things computer related, I am slowly educating myself a little each day.  Sometimes it’s an ‘aha’ enlightening moment and sometimes it’s a red-faced ‘I hope nobody saw me do that’ moment.  It’s a good thing I can laugh at myself, because believe me I spend a lot of time laughing!

The two current Red projects on my workbench.

Bumbling my way through blogging, I rarely change any parts of my format because I don’t want to mess things up.  I recently discovered I could subscribe and have my blog delivered in an email each time I posted!  I think you can subscribe too! Please let me know how my new subscription service at the top right of the screen works for you.  One new thing learned on the computer today, so I can get back to the studio!

Had to set up an extra table to work on glass boxes and hearts!

But first I want to share why I added my third blog, 365 One Day at a Time to my already overfilled schedule.  A long time friend who happens to be a photographer and recent inductee to the Shutter Sisters Blog pulled me into taking and posting one photo a day for 365 days.  After consideration I decided it might be fun because I love taking pictures but I wondered if I could stick to it.  I have to tell you, I am having so much fun with it that I’d rather be outside photographing than in the studio.  Yes, I said it, there’s somewhere I’d rather be than the studio!!  Well sometimes.  When I don’t have a deadline looming.  Anyone can join in.  You can do it just for yourself too, without the pressure of posting daily.  Give it a try.  A couple friends you might know who’ve jumped in are Terrie,  Barb, and Katie.

I am so honored that you stopped by to read my blog.  I truly appreciate it and hope I’ve made you smile or given you an idea about something new or beautiful.

4 Responses to “What’s Up?!”

  1. Toni Says:

    Now you know why I’m not in my studio very often these days! It’s just too much fun taking photos. 🙂 I’m glad you’re enjoying it, Linda. If you can believe this, I finally just got subscribed to all of my regular blogs that I visit. I had attempted to do that quite a while ago via Google reader (or whatever it is called), but that just didn’t work for me. Just the plain old simple RSS subscription works great for me and I’ve been able to easily keep up with new posts this week.

    So sorry to see your bubble – I know that feeling well when you open the kiln to find a bubble. Does it make you feel better that it makes me feel better to know that it happens to the best of us (that would be you, btw)? 🙂

    Your studio is so tidy – I’m taking notes. 😀


  2. Yay – you’re back, with more photos! The red bowl with the little gold circles is beautiful! I love it. I love that you showed part of the process too.


  3. I have to laugh Toni, tidy studio? You meant tiny, right?! That’s why I took a shot now instead of after the next 4 projects are underway.

    Thank you Doris for prompting me!

  4. fairegarden Says:

    Hi Linda, you are so busy! Love those reds too. Red Alert sounds like it will be a roaring success. 🙂
    Frances


Leave a Reply

