Home

Maryhill Arts Festival

August 27, 2010

The Oregon Glass Guild was featured at Maryhill Arts Festival because the museum’s focus is glass this year.  My friend Charlene is the current president of OGG and combined with the fact that Maryhill has been very good to me I went along for the fun of it, even though I don’t usually take part in outdoor shows anymore.  My first outdoor show was the Rose Bowl in Pasadena where I sold my tie-dyed macrame’ every weekend when I was sixteen years old.

Setting up tents; sharing space with Leila; 'Glass Row' at Maryhill Arts Festival

We OGG artists had a bank of tents in line with one another.  Most of us arrived to set up on Friday, even though essentially we set up every day.  And broke down every night.  Peacock Protection, we called it!  Yes, the inquisitive peacocks can get into zipped up tents!

Saturday morning arrived cloudy with a bit of sun beaming on Mt. Hood.  Good portend or not?  Turned out to be very hot!  Breezy in the afternoon!

Steider Studios at Maryhill Arts Festival

What to bring & what to leave home…these are the questions that haunt me when there’s little space.  As usual, I fit as much as I possibly could on my tables.  I like giving you a choice after all!

The road to Maryhill.

If you made the drive to Maryhill Museum along Hwy 14 in the morning, you would have seen bright skies with puffy clouds scattered about.  It’s an arid landscape contrasting with the adjacent river.

Sun sparkling on the Columbia River.

Large vistas of distant mountains and the Columbia River separating Oregon and Washington.

Maryhill Museum

Maryhill Museum perched above the Columbia.

Arriving at Sam Hill‘s castle, Maryhill Museum is a surprising oasis amidst the dusty brown landscape.

Artists ready for the festival to awaken.

Sunday morning dawned a bit breezier than Saturday so a couple of us bungied together and hung on.

We love a crowd!

Not as many shoppers on Sunday, but we always have a good time together.

Thanks Andy, for purchasing the Peacock Coasters!

Andy, Maryhill’s caretaker purchases coasters with gold line drawings of a Peacock made especially for this venue.  Thanks for the photo, Colleen!

Peacock coaster on Turquoise, 4" x 4".

Andy chose a green set; pictured above is turquoise with an iridescent cap for sparkle.

Baby peacocks

As usual, I cannot post about Maryhill Museum without including peacocks!  This time, I found some babies!  Aren’t they sweet?!!

One Response to “Maryhill Arts Festival”

  1. Peggy Krzyzewski Says:

    Seeing the photos of the Art Fair brought back memories–mostly good–of the years I did those shows. I just might do it again… And the baby peacocks are awesome! Thanks for the photos.
    Peggy


Leave a Reply

