Home

My Dance Card Overflows…

September 16, 2010

“Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’ … into the future”

How did the first fifteen days of September slip by so fast?  I’ll tell you!

September started off with a large order for my Celestial Series bowls from the Museum of Glass gift shop in Tacoma.  I can’t tell you how thrilled I am, especially since their focus is on blown glass, not kilnformed!  I spent days just cutting out the blanks for almost 5 dozen pieces, while doing a Happy Dance in my studio.  I can’t wait to see the display of bright colorful Celestial Bowls in their beautiful and well-lit gift shop.  I’ll deliver my work the first part of October and I hope you can go see …. I mean …. go buy it and take it home with you.

The first part of October also rings in with a gallery show at The Dalles Art Center.  I’ve planned and prepared for months and will be showing with Anthony Kiser and Scott Berger.  The opening is a first Thursday celebration, October 7th from 5 to 7pm.  Hope to see some of you there – come see my sparkly new work!

Along with my busy production schedule, preparations are underway for an intense class schedule in October.  If you’re interested in learning how to work with powdered glass and you’re in the Portland area, join us at Aquila Glass School for my two-day Powderology class on October 9 & 10.  It’s the first time I’ve been hosted in Portland – Thank you Don & Scott for inviting me!

If you’re interested in learning the basics of glass fusing, join us at The Dalles Art Center on Tuesday evenings, starting next week for my Glass-Fusing-for-Beginners class.  Or sign up for the Hood River Community Ed Beginning Glass Fusing and Intermediate Studies for the Returning Student on Wednesday evenings.  I promise you’ll have FUN and I’ll teach you so much that you’ll be able to set up your own glass studio if desired!

In November I’m excited I’ll be traveling to Austin Texas where I’ll present Powderology at Blue Moon Glassworks.  Traveling classes are fun, exciting, and intense because there’s so much to pack into such a short time frame.  If you’re in the area I hope you’ll join us!  This will be my first time in Texas – what are the ‘must see tourist attractions’ that I won’t want to miss?  Thank you Rose & Jim Berry, for hosting me – I can’t wait!

And there’s so much more…..but for now I must get back to the studio & produce all that work I’ve promised … so I can ‘Fly like an Eagle’……

2 Responses to “My Dance Card Overflows…”

  1. Janet Says:

    you are so active with your glass and classes … it is great to see … please post pics. of your work before it goes out .. I am really looking forward to it… good on ya Linda … Janet


  2. That’s an area I’m trying to improve upon – photographing my work before it goes out! Thanks Janet!!


Leave a Reply

