Home

Come to the Glass Craft and Bead Expo!

February 3, 2011

It’s already the first of February and my classes at the Glass Craft and Bead Expo are filling up so it’s time to start ordering equipment and supplies.  Glass, check. Kilns, check. Grinders, check.  Class supplies, check. What am I missing, it’s too easy this year.

I always look for interesting new ways of working with powdered glass and accessories that will enhance student projects.  I was the first to introduce dicro slide in my classes and continue to include it.  This year I bought some fun murinni from Glacial Art Glass for students to play with and some cool new fine-line laser imagery from Dichroic Alchemy.  We always find time to play with chalks, dichro, mica, and more.

This year I’m teaching 4 different classes instead of any repeats (You can read about them on my ‘Class Listings’ page toward the top in the right hand column).  Without further ado, here they are:

Play Date with Paste:  learn how to sculpt, make pattern bars, and more with wet glass paste, aka glass clay.  Very fun.
Exploring Glass Powders:  an introduction to many ways of working with powdered glass.  I’m told this one can be overwhelming, there’s a lot of information to take in just one day.
Beautiful Butterflies:  create your own imaginative or realistic butterfly from the initial sketch to execution.  Includes making your own pattern.
Build a Better Pocket:  learn how to make your own original design with an assortment of decorating tools.

Each year gets better at the Glass Craft and Bead Expo. I love teaching and getting to know each of the people in my classes. I’ve had some truly gifted and talented students and made some great friends.

We’re at the South Point again making it ultra convenient to stay, play, dine, wine, and hang with other glassists.  March 30th through April 3rd in Las Vegas NV.  See you there?

2 Responses to “Come to the Glass Craft and Bead Expo!”

  1. Mahnori Says:

    Nice info on the show. What to see, when it is held… but WHERE is it?

    Came on your site and it looked interesting. Would like to know where this show is held so I might visit in future years.


  2. Excellent point Mahnori! I’ve edited my post to reflect the city of Las Vegas is where it’s held.


Leave a Reply

