Home

Japan’s Earthquake and Tsunami……………How I can make a difference

March 16, 2011

I can’t stop thinking about the disaster in Japan.  As I said in my last post, my heart is heavy with sadness for those who lost loved ones.  I am moved by the many televised news snippets of people that could be you or I saying things like “I couldn’t get here in time; I hope his teacher got the children out safely”, while searching through rubble for his kindergarten aged son.

I am compelled to do something helpful, no matter how small an impact one individual might have.

Which organization will be able to do the most with my contribution?   I found this very useful site ~ Charity Navigator.  Using this site, I looked at organizations I had heard about & some that I hadn’t.  I compared percentages for program expenses vs administrative and fundraising expenses.  Then I looked at CEO/Leadership salaries and mission statements. Below are those I liked the best, with statistics that are listed for each on the Charity Navigator site.

Topics nearest and dearest to my heart are children and dogs, so I looked at those quite seriously wondering if my contribution would really get to a child or send a dog for search and rescue.  Dogs can help doctors by seeking out those still alive and doctors can help injured children.  Plus, who doesn’t like a doctor willing to go help others in the worst of conditions?!!

Doctors Without Borders 4 star

Program Expenses 86.8%
Administrative Expenses 1.3%
Fundraising Expenses 11.7%
Fundraising Efficiency $0.13
Nicolas De Torrente Executive Director $118,900 0.07%

National Disaster Search Dog Foundation 4 star

Program Expenses 78.2%
Administrative Expenses 8.0%
Fundraising Expenses 13.6%
Fundraising Efficiency $0.11
Debra Tosch Executive Director $78,223 2.77%

Save the Children 4 star

Program Expenses 89.7%
Administrative Expenses 4.6%
Fundraising Expenses 5.6%
Fundraising Efficiency $0.06
Charles F. MacCormack            President                                           $365,130          0.07% 

#######

As for salaries, you can see Charles F. MacCormack is paid the most.  Yet he was tied for lowest percentage at .07%, along with Nicolas De Torrente whose salary was just under a third of MacCormack’s.  Debra Tosch has the lowest salary yet the highest percentage of these three.

Using just this criteria, I have to vote my money going to Doctors Without Borders.  But I still want to save the children and get search dogs sent out, so I’m contributing to all three.  How, you might ask?  I don’t have much income to spare, so for now I’ll send a percentage of all art glass sales on both my Artfire and Zibbet shops until I’ve made something specific for the cause.   I’ve got a couple sketches going that relate to Japanese art and culture.  When they’re off the drawing board and into the kiln I’ll add them to my shops, donating the entire purchase to my organizations above.

Are you doing something specific to help?  Please share your ideas with us!  I’d like to post links to others offering ways to contribute, like Marcy, selling specific lampwork beads and donating the sale to the “American Red Cross in which 91 cents per dollar donated goes to the folks they are aiding”….  And Nithya on Artfire who is “donating US $10.00 for every small painting worth US $35.00 purchased from my store.”

Another ArtFire artist, Taryn of ‘oh danger’ is donating proceeds from specific cards to Animal Refuge Kansai, a non-profit organization in Japan dedicated to helping animals. “Your money will go directly to the aid of animals in Japan affected by the recent earthquake and tsunami.”

My friend Barb works for a company that will match contributions – does yours?

Kimberly of Akimbo Studios tells me “The Rotary Club is also gearing up donations – they do more with recovery than relief. it’s going to be a BIG job on both sides! Be wary of scams people, let your hard earned dollars go to help, not line the pockets of scammers and charities with HIGH operating costs”.  A great reason to check the Charity Navigator site.

Another friend, Arnold says “let people in Japan know that people over here care about them. That is very powerful.  Write a letter of support to a major newspaper in Japan. It is easy to get letters published.”  A wonderful idea and easy to do, I’m in!

Many places like The Huffington Post and Yahoo News are listing Earthquake and Tsunami relief options for you to choose from.  Most of those listed are national or international organizations.  Don’t forget to look closer to home. Many local people are putting together fundraisers that you can easily contribute to, like this one in my area –  ski to assist Mercy Corps’ Japan disaster relief efforts. Or maybe you can start one of your own!

If you’ll post your additional ideas and links in the comments below, everyone reading this can benefit from your ideas, your links, your sales donations, and anywhere else you’ve found someone helping.  I’d love you to list your favorite organization(s) that we can contribute to.

We’re all in this world together and together we can make a difference.  Please do what you can.

If you haven’t seen this link, from the NY Times, use the sliders to see satellite images of each town before and after the disaster.

Edit:  From now until April 10th. Verizon is offering their customers free calling to Japan.  Time Warner Cable is also offering free calling to Japan if you have their telephone service, until April 15th.

My friend Barbara says:  “ALL funds received in the next month go to the Japanese response. ALL.”, with this link to the Humane Society International.

3 Responses to “Japan’s Earthquake and Tsunami……………How I can make a difference”


  1. Great article on this terrible natural disaster now being compounded by other dreadful consequences.

    I am selling a bracelet, that I made last year, that I named “Japanese Princess”; all profits from this bracelet will be donated to help the recovery efforts.
    Here is the link for the bracelet
    http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=398102

  2. Mandy Saile Says:

    Thanks so much for all the information. I see so many bloggers blogging about ways to help and it’s so lovely.


Leave a Reply

