Home

Introducing Buggettes in a Rainbow of Color

February 5, 2012

Introducing my new ‘Buggettes’, just in time for the Yard, Garden & Patio Show at the Oregon Convention Center.  I’ll be in booth #1481 near the Hardy Plant Society.   I have about two weeks left before the show opens on February 17th and always seem to come up with fun new ideas at the last minute! 

I always start with a sketch.  In this case a very simple sketch.  Next I make a pattern or template, cut out some glass & stack it up to see if it fits together.

I like to make prototypes in different colors to see where my idea might go.  If you noticed my sketch says ‘Blue Bug’, because that was my original idea – Blue Bugs to go with my Ladybugs.  But who wants to stick to just one color?!!

I loved the prototypes, so started pulling out my stash of pattern bars, pot melt chips, twists, cane, frit balls and everything else close at hand for wing designs.

You already know how much I love color.  I had to make at least two (in case I want to keep one) of every color I have in each color family.  The green group above is ready for the kiln.

This group of blue, lavender and plum buggettes, fresh from the kiln is ready to sign, price and pack.  The coiled copper antenna is designed to wrap around a small tree or shrub branch so they hang in your garden and mine.

I’ll have them available for $20 along with my standard glass ladybugs…

…and glass garden fairies.  I love these girls!  Not only do they provide whimsical color when my flowers fade, but they are full of personality.  They might have glow in the dark glass embedded in their wings and they’re all fully finished, front and back.  I offer these at $75…I know a bit expensive, but very time consuming to make.  Cost includes hair styling, make up and wardrobe!

I’ll have recycled glass and art glass wall pockets starting at $12…

You know my booth will be filled to the brim with colorful glass, all garden related!  My booth is near the Hardy Plant Society, #1481, be sure to let me know you read my blog!

Oh, and I have discount admission coupons for you!  Click the link below & print.

 The Yard, Garden & Patio Show at the Oregon Convention Center on MLK Blvd, February 17 – 19 (don’t forget I’m in booth #1481).

See you there!!

If you like this post, sign up to receive an email for future posts so you don’t miss anything.  It’s easy, just click the box at the top right of this page that says ‘Sign me up!’ and type in your email.  It’s right under the yellow close-up photo of my work.

4 Responses to “Introducing Buggettes in a Rainbow of Color”

  1. elfkat Says:

    I’m sending two friends just to visit you and see your wonderful glass. Hope it goes well!


  2. Thank you so much!! Make sure they tell me they’re your friends!!

  3. Michelle Says:

    This was a beautiful show.. your space looked amazing!


  4. Thanks Michelle, it was great meeting you!!


Leave a Reply

