Home

Saturated in Color

March 16, 2012

As I fervently go through last minute preparations for the Glass Craft & Bead Expo, I thought I’d better snap a photo or two and share them with you.

Today I’m pulling out the last load of new color samples that I wanted to finish for my Color Theory for Glassists class.  You know how one thing leads to another…there are  so many more color study samples I wanted to make but alas….


…..it’s time to finish up with color saturation and double check my Shimmer Shine and Sparkle class supplies and samples.   Each morning as my eyes open I think of ten more ways to add glitter to a project.  I need to stop thinking about my classes – they are prepared and I am ready.  I don’t really have to overwhelm students with samples and ideas…..I just like it that way.  There’s still room if you’d like to join us!  Fun. Playful. Information Packed.  You can click the links on my Class Listings page to land on all the registration pages.

The bulk of my supplies were shipped last week, so these last few samples, bits of glass  and supplies will have to be packed in my luggage.  Another reason for me to stop.  The airlines are very strict about weight limits, so I’ll have to balance each checked and carry on bag.

For a moment I thought I might breathe again in April, but after checking the calendar I realize my studio sale in conjunction with Gorge Artists Open Studios Tour is a mere TEN days after I return home!  Eeeek!  I’ll spend next week preparing the invitation and pulling all the details together.  Immediately upon my return, the invites will go out.  If you’re not on my mailing list and would like an invitation, please send me a note.  linda at steiderstudios dot com.

The rest of my spring is just as busy.  An event at the Columbia Gorge Hotel in conjunction with Hood River’s Blossom Festival takes place the weekend after my studio sale.  It will be a fun quick show, set up in the large banquet room near the restaurant.  “Art of the Gorge” will take place Saturday, April 21st from 1pm until 5pm with a reception from 5pm to 7pm.  On Sunday the show will be open from 9am until 2pm.

Sunday April 22nd you’ll find me participating in a panel discussion about blogging.  It’s a presentation for ‘Artist 2 Artist’, a professional development opportunity for artists sponsored by Columbia Arts.  Yep, it overlaps with the ‘Art of the Gorge’ show, but my good friend Charlene will take care of my table at the hotel while I join the panel.   9am – 2:30 pm. $25 registration fee.  Parking & brunch included.  Limited space.  Register online:  Artist2Artist Registration.

Then comes May… starting with a huge event, Oregon Glass Guild’s ‘Glass Gallery’ at the Oregon Convention Center.  It’s the annual Gathering of the Guilds and the largest artist owned show on the West Coast.  I’m really excited to participate again this year.  As in the past we’re joining the potters, weavers, woodworkers and metal artists.  Come see all the pretty glass first, ok?

…..for now, let me stay in March just a little longer…..

Leave a Reply

