Home

Optimize your Facebook Business Page

June 1, 2012

I want to share some information about optimizing your Facebook Business Page.  I am so grateful for all the technical help I’ve received that maybe this is a small way to say thank you, by paying it forward.

Some of you already know this, but for those who don’t:

You should have a link to your Facebook Business Page on your personal ‘about’ info so that your friends (& everyone else who is interested in your work) can easily find where to see or buy your work. When someone likes my page I want to reciprocate & it’s so much easier when they have their ArtFire and Facebook links on their personal page. Go edit your ‘contact info’ to include as many websites as needed. Make that section public.

Anything you post on your personal page (or any page for that matter!) about your business should include a link so we can simply click rather than search for you & possibly not find you.  Simply copy the URL (address of the web page) and paste it into your post.

When you land on my page I want you to see beautiful photos of my work. Under our cover photo (which should be a good image – your branding, your work, your message or something that identifies your business*) we now have ‘apps‘ that you can enhance with more photos!  Your first app (on the left) in the row will always be your ‘photos’ – it remains static but the remaining apps can be rearranged.

To rearrange & edit your apps, click on the number (with arrow down symbol) at the far right – that opens up the entire group of apps. Hover your mouse at the top right of the app you want to change – you’ll see the pencil to edit. The top line says ‘swap position with’…just click on the app that you want to swap it with.  I moved the ‘likes’ app to the last position because I can’t add a photo and you already see the number of likes below our business names.

Now choose one app to add a photo to, click on the edit pencil & click on ‘edit settings’.  You can change the custom tab name if desired, but more importantly you can remove that blah lettering and add your beautiful photo! Click ‘change’ next to custom tab image. A new window opens & you again click ‘change’. Click ‘choose file’ & upload your image. Change it as often as you wish to keep your community of fans (as they were formerly called) entertained!  I decided to change my ‘ArtFire Kiosk’ tab name to ‘Purchase my  Work’ for those folks who do not know what ArtFire (or maybe even a Kiosk) is.  Plus, it’s a direct ‘call to action’…I’m telling the viewer “to purchase my work just click here“.  And I hope you will!!

Post photos often – photo posts will yield more comments than a string of words, no matter how important the text. The more your community interacts with you, the higher your stats become; giving you higher standing in FB’s ever-changing algorithms. Also the more your friends & community share your posts, the more people will see & hopefully like your page also.  I love it when someone in my community shares my post!

If you haven’t discovered it yet, you can ‘Highlight’ any post to stretch it across your page instead of keeping it in two columns; and you can ‘Pin to Top’ which keeps that post at the top of your Timeline for 7 days or until you change it.  Hover your mouse at the top right of your post.  To Highlight, simply click on the star next to the pencil.  Your photo stretches across your screen.  If you want to change it back, just click the star again.  To Pin to Top, click on the pencil.  Choose Pin to Top.  Your post moves to the top of your page.  To ‘Unpin’, click the pencil, then Unpin.  If you Highlight a post then Pin to Top, you’ll see it reverts back to a single column format.

I hope this is helpful & it only takes a few minutes to do. I’m still learning my way around the new Timeline (and all things technical), but I’m happy to answer any questions I can. If you’d like to see what I’ve done with my page so far, it’s https://www.facebook.com/SteiderStudios.  I’d love you to like my page and share it with your friends!  That’s a direct call to action, friends!!

*By the way, Facebook rules state do not put a call to action on our Cover photos, so you must be creative about any text you include.  Here are the guidelines:

“Cover images must be at least 399 pixels wide and may not contain:

  • Price or purchase information, such as “40% off” or “Download it at our website”
  • Contact information, such as web address, email, mailing address or other information intended for your Page’s About section
  • References to user interface elements, such as Like or Share, or any other Facebook site features
  • Calls to action, such as “Get it now” or “Tell your friends”

To get the best quality image and fastest load times for your Page, upload an sRGB JPG file that’s 851 pixels wide, 315 pixels tall and less than 100 kilobytes.” 

Thanks for visiting my blog & please feel free to share your tips or questions in the comments section below!

If you like this post, sign up to receive an email for future posts so you don’t miss anything.  It’s easy, just click the box at the top right of this page that says ‘Sign me up!’ and type in your email.  It’s right under the yellow close-up photo of my work.

8 Responses to “Optimize your Facebook Business Page”


  1. thanks for the great info….

  2. Deb Says:

    I just learned that if you are not receiving updates from a business page you ‘liked’, go to that page and hover over the like button and click on the show in news feed tab.


  3. really helpful, thanks


  4. Thank you Jeannie!

  5. Linda Landig Says:

    Great article, Linda. I didn’t know you could change pictures on your apps. Got rid of the ugly ArtFire pic and replaced it with a pair of my earrings. Thanks!


  6. Thank you Linda! I’m constantly learning more about Facebook business pages & am working on another post to help us all grow our pages.


Leave a Reply

