Home

Birds and The Blues

January 12, 2013

Steider Studios:  Heron Perched Near The Dalles Dam

I’ve been working hard for an upcoming show at Columbia Art Gallery:  The Blues.  The opening is Feb 1st from 6pm until 8pm.  Many local gorge artists are participating and the opening reception will include a rare acoustic performance by local blues greats, Tess & Patrik Barr!

Steider Studios:  Heron in Flight

Today I decided to take a day off to go looking for eagles again.  The Dalles Dam is a magnet for eagles this time of year.  While I looked around, several herons flew by & I was thrilled when this one landed so close to me !

Steider Studios:  Eagles at The Dalles DamAs you can see, my lens does not reach the eagles across the Columbia River from The Dalles Dam Visitor Center!  I couldn’t figure out how to enter the facility to get a closer shot – all the gates were closed and I’ve never seen them open.  This was just one section, there were plenty of eagles if only I could figure out how to get closer!

Steider Studios:  Klickitat River 1.12.13

Lucky for me I’d stopped at the Klickitat River enroute to The Dalles.  This time I hiked along the east side of the river.

Steider Studios:  Pine Siskin at Klickitat River

Maybe it’s the time of year, but I wonder if I’ve ever seen a pine siskin so bright.

Steider Studios:  Flicker at Klickitat River

Flickers were abundant!  I haven’t seen this many in one spot, ever.

Steider Studios:  Eagle in TreeI didn’t think my camera caught this eagle with all the branches in my way.  I only saw two eagles at the Klickitat River today, both in the same tree.  It was interesting viewing them from the opposite side.  I know there must be a way to get closer and will investigate next time.

Steider Studios:  Columbia River Gorge from Skyline 1.12.13

I made it back to White Salmon just in time for sunset.  Tomorrow I’d better get back to the studio.  My water line to the flat lap is frozen, so I have to figure out how I’m going to coldwork my pieces for the show next month!  See you at the reception?

Columbia Arts_Show Card 'The Blues'

Here’s the link to our Facebook Event page, please join us & invite your friends!

Columbia Arts_FebShow 'The Blues'_back

In case you didn’t know, you can see many of my photographs published as all occasion greeting cards in my Zibbet shop. Just click this link.

If you like this post, sign up to receive an email for future posts so you don’t miss anything.  It’s easy, just click the box at the top right of this page that says ‘Sign me up!’ and type in your email.  It’s right under the yellow close-up photo of my work.

10 Responses to “Birds and The Blues”

  1. ellen abbott Says:

    beautiful pictures Linda, as always.


  2. Thanks so much Ellen!

  3. Coral Says:

    Oh my Linda, your photo shots as always are beautiful…..you make one feel they are there with you and seeing through your minds eye….

  4. Kate Says:

    Your pictures are wonderful. The heron looks so strange flying, like it’s all folded in on itself. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in flight before.


  5. Thank you Kate! Herons are fun to watch & can look graceful or awkward while flying & sometimes both at once, especially while landing.

  6. Coral Says:

    After viewing this Heron photo over and over I see new things all the time….this time it is the few feathers on the back of his head…I wonder if they work like an antenna……beautiful again Linda

  7. spartan 81 Says:

    Hi Linda:

    This is Mark Steider. I came across your website. Your photos are fantastic!!!!! You live in a most lovely place. I must admit I have never fully understood why anyone would live where it snows!! (I am allergic to snow myself)

    I hope all is well with you and Sam.

    Let Peace Begin With Me

    Mark Steider


  8. Thank you Mark! All is well here, hope the same for you.


Leave a Reply

