Home

Seeking Respite at Portland’s Japanese Garden

February 18, 2013

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Pink Flower

My plate is so full I needed a day of respite at the Japanese Garden in Portland.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Pink Flower 2

Today was their ‘Free Day’, so I picked up a friend and we headed into the city.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden.  Tree

Alas, so did everyone else.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Edgeworthia

We found a place to park but it was a good hike from the garden entrance.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Waterfall

Once inside the garden we decided to venture the opposite way as everyone else.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Koi

Not exactly what I pictured for a day of respite, but you know me … captivated by the surrounding beauty, everything but the garden and emergence of spring faded from my thoughts.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Tree 2

Until the troop of boy scouts going the wrong way in the one way zone, but even that made me laugh.  Three tall men leading a dozen or more little scouts across a narrow path with clearly marked arrows, maneuvered their way around the rest of us.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Waterfall 3

A quick trip, big crowds, but well worth it.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Pink Flowers 4

As my friend said with longing “The blossoms let me know that our spring is really just around the corner”.

Steider Studios:  Japanese Garden. Pink Flowers 3

I’m back in the studio this evening, working on a few things for a mini solo show at ‘The Nook’, inside Columbia Art Gallery.  My show will open the First Friday in March, I hope to see some of you there!

If you like this post, sign up to receive an email for future posts so you don’t miss anything.  It’s easy, just click the box at the top right of this page that says ‘Sign me up!’ and type in your email.  It’s right under the yellow close-up photo of my work.

6 Responses to “Seeking Respite at Portland’s Japanese Garden”

  1. ellen abbott Says:

    beautiful pics and it sounds like a good day even with the crowd.


  2. Thanks Ellen, it really was a beautiful day!


  3. WONDERFUL PHOTOS!!!


  4. Thanks so much Jeannie!

  5. Coral Burgett Says:

    Linda, tried to comment, however the mouse would not open for comments..(?)…beautiful and so full of your artistic eye..for those of us to enjoy….when will you have your card selection ready…..? Need to re-send my request for the earrings….will do soon….still trying to figure out a way to let you  know what is what…..hugs


  6. Thank you Coral! I’ll have new cards in my shop next month. Have a solo show opening the first Friday in March, so everything has been on hold while I prepare new work for it.


Leave a Reply

