Home

Helping a Favorite Friend

July 21, 2013

Steider Studios:  Kathy Watne, Enamelist

Early this month I was on a roll, getting things done, adding to my on-line shop, getting commissions out the door.  Then one of my favorite friends was in a horrific accident and all my attention went to her:  http://www.hoodrivernews.com/news/2013/jul/13/local-artist-hospitalized-after-motorcycle-acciden/   We had just finished a meeting for an August art show and as we stood on the corner chatting afterwards, I remember thinking how cute Kathy looked in her motorcycle leathers & helmet.  Everything changed less than an hour later.

Kathy on her Motorcycle
I’m watering her garden along with other friends; and gathered some photos of our ‘Glass Girls’ and other mutual friends to paste on her hospital wall so no matter where she looks, she’ll see someone who loves her. It doesn’t feel like enough.  Kathy has many friends that are thinking of ways to help, to show our love and support.

Loosestrife
Along with many other artists, I’m donating my work for upcoming fundraisers and I don’t know if that’ll be enough. Last night I decided to give 20% of my sales towards Kathy’s fund. If you’ve been thinking about buying a gift of glass or something for your home; notecards or photograph prints on metal or canvas, you’ll also be contributing to Kathy’s fund and I thank you in advance!  http://www.zibbet.com/SteiderStudios  No, this is not a plug to get you to buy something….I’m simply looking at any possible way to help my friend & her family.

Hearts for Kathy
Kathy is one of those people who everyone loves. She’s full of life, energy and effervescence. She sits on many committees with me. I’ve been her student & she’s been mine. She is a sports enthusiast, skiing and snowboarding during winter months & windsurfing in summer. I could go on and on about her but I think you get the idea. She smiles at everyone and they can’t help but smile back. She radiates positivity.

If you can send a prayer or positive energy with healthy vibes, they’d be appreciated.

If you’re in the Columbia River Gorge, watch for announcements of opportunities to help.

I don’t know when Kathy will be back at work, but perhaps the best way to show support later will be to purchase her enamel jewelry, wall art and switch plates.

 

3 Responses to “Helping a Favorite Friend”

  1. jimsi7833 Says:

    How do we buy some of her jewelry? Jim


  2. Excellent question Jim, thank you so much! As Kathy recovers I’ll post a link to her on-line shop. I’ll also send an email with that link if you like, when it’s available. For now, I’m worried about orders being placed that can’t be filled because she’s not there to package & ship. I am hoping to remedy that situation this week.


  3. My friend Paula also wants to order switch plates and wine charms. Think I’ll keep an informal log of what people want here to share with Kathy when she gets home.


Leave a Reply

