Home

Trio of Big Birds Takes up Residence in my Backyard

December 27, 2013

Steider Studios.PeaCock in BackYard.12.26.13

I’m thrilled to find a trio of these big birds in my back yard.  They’ve been in my area for at least a year but are regularly seen with a flock of turkeys.

Steider Studios.PeaHen Duo.12.26.13

Yesterday two peahens and a peacock were in my back yard most of the afternoon.  They were scratching the ground and preening in the sun.

Steider Studios.PeaHen.Vertical.12.26.13

I crept up to them oh so slowly and quietly until I was about five feet away.

Steider Studios.Peacock.BackYard.12.26.13

Maybe they thought I was a turkey, or better yet one of them.  Although they eyed me suspiciously, they did not seem disturbed by my presence.

Steider Studios.Peahen in Backyard 12.26.13

They’re back this morning, hanging out near our chicken coop.

Steider Studios.PeaHen.12.26.13

Our chickens are now eyeing them with suspicion, but so far the only one distressed is our dog.  She is simply warning us of trespassers – not chasing them at all, simply barking to let us know of their presence.

Steider Studios.Peacock.12.26.13

They’re so pretty and colorful.  And they keep snakes away.  Can we keep them?  Please??!!!

Leave a Reply

