Home

Best of the Northwest Photo Workshop

May 4, 2014

Steider Studios:  Path to Elowah Falls

My friend Lori said to take a workshop with David Cobb or any of the Photo Cascadia ‘Best of the Northwest’ photographers if I had an opportunity.

Steider Studios:  Elowah Falls

I found a workshop offered here at home in the Columbia River Gorge with David Cobb and Zack Schnepf so I didn’t have any travel expenses!

Steider Studios:  Elowah Falls

Zack is the son of my glassy friend, Raphael Schnepf, so I thought it would be a very fun adventure and I was right!!

Steider Studios:  Bottom of Elowah Falls

 I took this series of shots at our first session at Elowah Falls at dark thirty in the morning.  Yes, dark thirty – I left home at 5am!  Mist was so high many of us got soaked while crossing the bridge in the foreground.

Steider Studios:  Ferns Against Black Rocks

I played with different exposures & settings looking for that ‘wow’ factor.  Not sure I found it, but I had fun and the experience was enlightening.

Steider Studios:  Elowah Falls Hiking In

I like how you can see the falls and creek in this shot through the lush trees along the path.

Steider Studios:  Moss.Lichen

I always like focusing on details when I’m out and about.

Steider Studios:  Elowah Falls.Hiking Out

Another shot of the falls and creek through the forest from another stop in the path.

Steider Studios:  Wild Bleeding Heart

Wildflowers were plentiful.

Steider Studios:  Elowah Falls Through Trees

I think I like how the trees and branches frame the falls……

Steider Studios:  Elowah Falls Through Trees.Cropped

…I like it cropped better though.  Which version do you prefer?

I have a thousand photos to go through, so will have to take a couple of posts to tell you about the entire weekend.  It was fantastic & I have to agree with Lori – if you have an opportunity to take a workshop with David Cobb, Zack Schnepf or any of the excellent photographers from Photo Cascadia do it!

Leave a Reply

