Home

Good bye May, Hello June

June 1, 2015

Steider Studios.Sunset.5.31.15

A beautiful sunset last night closed out the month of May.  It was full of hard work, but also full of adventure and good friends.

Steider Studios.Garden work fence finished.5.31.15

Yesterday my friend & neighbor Katie popped in with a trunk full of tools to help me repair my veggie garden fence.  After we finished I started planting this years crop.  Today I’ll buy more seeds and finish – I can already taste those yummy fresh veggies – an assortment of lettuce, zukes, cukes, carrots, and more!  Below the veggies are grapes and blackberries.

Slash pile burning

My giant ‘Slash Pile Burn‘ Fuel Reduction project through Department of Natural Resources is finally finished with paperwork submitted!  That was a long, hard, cathartic project, and I’m glad it’s done!  Yay ME!!  The image above is my friend Eileen who came up one morning & helped with her husband Jim.

Steider Studios.Friends

My fabulous ‘Gorge Glass Girls’ (Leila, Terri, Charlene, Kathy and Carolyn (who isn’t in this shot, but also an instigator),  gave me a wonderful gift:

Steider Studios.After Wings 5.27.15-3

They hired young men from ‘Wings’ to help bring up firewood from my now-cleared and burned forest.  These sweet, polite and respectful, hard-working young men – under the direction of Walt – brought up firewood from the farthest point of my property to the woodpile outside my back door.  They cut branches into wood-stove lengths and stacked as much as they could in a day.  Image above shows the remaing piles of firewood and I have all summer to leisurely haul it up.

Steider Studios.Merganser Family.Stevenson.5.25.15

My friend Nancy & I have been out on several photo adventures, looking for wildlife.  While chasing down a lead for a Wood Duck family we found a Hooded Merganser family!

Steider Studios.Heron in Flight.Ridgefield.5.11.15

We went to Ridgefield NWR, one of our favorite spots to photograph birds.

Steider Studios.Red-breasted Sapsucker.5.14.15

We went to Conboy Lake NWR for a day where we ran into friends who showed us a Red-breasted Sapsucker nest – can’t wait to go back and photograph babies!!

Steider Studios.Wood Duckling.Pink Reflection.5.11.15

And we went to Crystal Springs to watch Wood Ducklings learn how to be a duck.

Steider Studios.Owlet.Bingen Marina.5.15.15

I’ve also traversed the Columbia River watching my favorite little owl family grow up…..I plan to write a post on their progress from when I first found them.

Steider Studios.Pileated Woodpecker.Home.5.3.15

As I worked in my back woods all these months, I’ve watched more birds come to my now-open forest, like this Pileated Woodpecker;

Steider Studios.Western Tanager.5.15.15

and Western Tanager.

Steider Studios.Elk at Conboy Lake NWR

Now with most of my hard work finished, I plan to spend more time at Conboy Lake NWR watching for baby elk, baby birds, and maybe even see a baby otter this year!!  You’ll find me along the Columbia River checking all the Osprey and Woodpecker nests that I find.  And anywhere else that looks like a promising adventure!

4 Responses to “Good bye May, Hello June”

  1. kathy watne Says:

    wow linda-those are all so beautiful! your photography is inspiring!


  2. Thanks so much Kathy!

  3. Coral Burgett Says:

    wonderful views Linda


  4. Thank you Coral!


Leave a Reply

