Home

My First Adventure with Northern Lights

June 25, 2015

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15

Closing in on the end of June and I’ve started many posts for this month but have yet to stay at my computer long enough to finish one!  Instead of going in chronological order, I MUST share my exciting adventure from last night.  I shot my FIRST AURORA BOREALIS!!!  I am so excited I can’t stop thinking about it and don’t even care that Mt. Adams is blurry.

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-5

Wednesday’s adventure began when my friend Darlisa invited me to a ‘Solar Storm’ event on Facebook.  I’d seen all the Monday posts (with photos!) about the gorgeous Northern Lights occurring this week but it didn’t occur to me to stay up all night myself to photograph this amazing light show.

Steider Studios.Mt. Adams.6.24.15

Wednesday morning I studied blogs and help forums about how to shoot an aurora, then spent the afternoon scouting locations.  I chose this view of Mt. Adams because it was clear and close  ~ easy to get to & a short drive home.  Then I reviewed my camera, remote, lenses and chose the best gear I had for the task while waiting for late night to arrive.

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-3

In spite of careful preparation ~ my wireless remote wouldn’t work; I couldn’t find the infinity symbol on my camera; I was out in the middle of nowhere by myself far later than my comfort level (11:45 until 3:15); feeling like I didn’t know what I was doing; the LCD on the back of my camera showed a lot of nothing but BLACK ~ and then all my worries disintegrated when I first saw amazing color on the LCD!

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-7

A little side note, after about 15 minutes I had to get back in my car and maneuver it so the headlights were illuminating the field next to me ~ to be sure the sound of crunching brush getting closer and closer, and slurping sounds were indeed the cows I’d seen earlier in the day! Fortunately there was a fence between me and the cows!

 

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-8

I don’t know if this is part of the Aurora, and I really couldn’t see it with my naked eye.  I’d see what looked like mist or a thin veil far off behind the mountain.

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-9

I played with the ISO and shutter speed.  The widest I could get my aperture was around 5.6 ~ this makes me want to buy a better lens for this type of work!!

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-6

Instead of throwing away many of my ‘black’ images, after bringing up the exposure, I could still see some color in many of them.

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-4

Alas, most of the black shots looked like this after editing.  So many technical issues I need to learn more about.

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-2

Of course I didn’t take notes as I shot, so instead of repeating my best efforts, I will have more learning sessions!  When all is said and done, I must say it was a fabulous first learning experience.

Steider Studios.Northern Lights.6.25.15-10

Just after 3 a.m. I felt myself fading into the night and had to get some sleep. I grabbed one last shot of the stars above, then headed home. It was a gorgeous and glorious experience!  I’m glad I went out to shoot the Aurora Borealis and can’t wait for the next opportunity!!

I’m learning more about Northern Lights while trying to wrap my head around all the information at Space Weather Enthusiasts Dashboard and http://www.ips.gov.au/Solar/1/4

6 Responses to “My First Adventure with Northern Lights”

  1. Chris Says:

    I saw the Northern lights when I was a child a few times. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing with me. I look forward to seeing them. I always have one of my birds on my shoulder when I see you have written me. I think Lady Godiva was very sorry for no bird pictures. Thanks Chris


  2. Thanks for commenting Chris! I’ve only seen the Northern Lights once, years ago coming home late from a weekend art show – the entire sky was red!

  3. Coral Says:

    Linda again thank you for sharing…love the Northern Lights..saw them when I was a little girl in Northern MN (Dulth) when visiting my aunt and uncle…didn’t realize how beautiful at time nature was…again thank you for your talent that you so willingly share with the rest of us…hugs


  4. Coral, it’s my pleasure! Thank you for commenting!

  5. Candace Says:

    Beautiful, I’ve never seen them. Of course they’re not visible in AZ. Someday I hope to see them, though.


  6. Thanks Candace, it was amazing! Hope you get to see it one day!


Leave a Reply

