Home

I Saw a Black Bear!

July 29, 2015

Steider Studios.Flicker

I’ve had several fun adventures lately, but today I have to share how fun my own ‘back yard’ is.  I knew I was going to have a great hike when a Northern Flicker landed right in front of me as I headed out!

Steider Studios.Pileated Woodpecker

Meandering along the path I noted it was fairly quiet ~ yesterday the forest was filled with the sound of woodpeckers…..

Steider Studios.American Tree Sparrow

….and little Tree Sparrows chatting to each other,

Steider Studios.Tree Sparrow feeding.7.29.15

parents still bringing food to babes.

Steider Studios.Clarks Nutcracker

I was also thrilled when a Clark’s Nutcracker flew into a pine tree on the bluff ~ I watched him as long as he let me.

Steider Studios.Lazuli Bunting.7.29.15

Today when I arrived at my destination I watched a flock of Lazuli Buntings!

Steider Studios.Lazuli Bunting female.7.29.15

It was amazing to see them here.  Staying in the shadows, I crept closer hoping to get a better shot.

Steider Studios.I Saw A Bear

My dog, usually passive by my side while I photograph suddenly alerted.  She didn’t bark but was insistent, so I tried to see what she was so intent on.  Suddenly a black bear slowly ran behind the trees about 25 feet away.  I froze, my heart pounding with a bit of fear, but I was thrilled and awe-struck.  The sun made his fur glisten and I thought about lifting my camera, but I didn’t want to miss a second of watching him.  If I had, the above is what it would probably look like!

Steider Studios.Bee on Dandelion.7.28.15

I have NEVER been more alert on my way home from a hike.  Yesterday I leisurely hiked home stopping for this bee, but not today…..

Steider Studios.Goldfinch Babes in Bath

Back home an abundance of sweet little fledglings take advantage of my bird bath.  American Goldfinch siblings above.

Steider Studios.Black-headed Grosbeak

Black-headed Grosbeak just out of the bath.

Sweet, serene, and fun to watch.  Did I say I saw A BEAR today?  I DID!!  I am giddy with excitement that I saw him!!

4 Responses to “I Saw a Black Bear!”

  1. Marina Vrouvlianis Says:

    spectacular photos Linda! As usual!!! I am sorry you didn’t get a chance to photograph the bear !!!!! I think I would have fainted at the sight!


  2. Thanks Marina! I was definitely holding my breath!!

  3. Coral Says:

    You know they say HI is Paradise….well I think you have a Paradise of your own in WA…so beautiful and amazing are your photos…when is the book coming out? Hugs


  4. Thank you Coral, my book will be out when I find a patron to publish for me, lol!!


Leave a Reply

