Home

Turtles at Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge

September 4, 2015

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Turtle Trio.9.3.15

I went to Portland yesterday to buy myself a new lens for my BIRTHDAY.  Yes, I buy myself birthday gifts…often and not necessarily on the actual day.  Usually I gift myself a little something every day in September.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Great Blue Heron.9.3.15

While in the city, I took a side trip up to Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Frog with Turtle.9.3.15

It was a quiet day with very few sightings and even fewer people.  It was, however a day filled with turtles!  And in this image a frog ~ can you see it?

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Grebe.9.3.15

I found a couple of ducks and a grebe enjoying a swim.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield NWR.9.3.15

OH!  My new lens.  I bought a wide angle to get better pictures of the Aurora Borealis. You can read about my first adventure with Northern lights here.  It’ll be handy for landscapes too, but mostly I was thinking about colorful night skies.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Pileated on Snag.9.3.15

I almost missed this Pileated Woodpecker as I slowly drove through the refuge.  I heard him drilling in a section of densely shaded trees.  Lucky me, he made his way to the top of a snag near my car!

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Pileated top of Snag.9.3.15

Is he a juvenile?  His feathers are sort of spiky around his neck making me wonder if he had been in the creek.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Wood Duck.9.3.15

I only saw one pair of Wood Ducks.

Steider Studios.Turtle.Pair.Ridgefield.9.3.15

Back to turtles….this poor guy spent about 15 minutes climbing up to share a log.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Turtle Fight.9.3.15

Unfortunately his friend wanted nothing to do with him & shoved him off!!

Steider Studios.lunch spot.9.3.15

I had a lovely lunch in the shade at this bend in the creek.  As I ate my sunflower seed honey butter sandwich, I desperately wanted the Kingfisher flying back and forth to land on the snag in front of me.  If he had, this is where his photo would go.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Northern Harrier.9.3.15

I slowly finished the route, watching more herons, egrets, and Northern Harriers.

Steider Studios.Ridgefield Quiet Day.9.3.15

Another gorgeous day of sun, rain, clouds and end of summer fun at Ridgefield NWR.

6 Responses to “Turtles at Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge”

  1. Katie Says:

    I truly enjoy your photographs and the comments attached to each!


  2. Thank you Katie! I appreciate you being here & saying so!!

  3. Coral Says:

    Linda, your birthday month has again brought so many beautiful photos and enlightening notes…love the Wood Duck..so magical with the coloring God gave him…hugs

  4. jim kingsley Says:

    Linda, You know the best places! You will have to take us out on a photo shoot sometime! We will be back up for Thanksgiving. Cheers
    Jim


  5. You got it Jim, see you in November!


Leave a Reply

