Home

A Month of Adventure

October 16, 2015

Steider Studios.Columbia River Gorge From Bridge.11.2.14

Once again I’ve fallen behind in my blog.  Summer and now Fall racing by at mach speed, I want to take a moment to breathe and fill you in on some of my recent ‘adventures’.

Steider Studios.Waterfalls.10.15.15-13

Many friends have come to the Columbia River Gorge this year to see this Gorge-ous place that I love and call home, so I’ve played tour guide often ~ a role I truly enjoy.

Steider Studios.Mt. Adams.9.23.15-7

I took my friend Kathleen (amazing metalsmith, jewelry artist) & her husband (fellow photographer) Dan to Takhlakh Lake, looking for fall color with a quick stop at Trout Lake.

Steider Studios.Demianni Vineyard.9.26.15

I finished out my birthday month by photographing long-time friends Cathy & Alex’s vineyard during harvest… mmm Demianni Winery ~ fabulous wine.

Steider Studios.Lunar Eclipse.9.27.15

I went back to their vineyard to shoot the Super Harvest Moon and Lunar eclipse.

Steider Studios.Otter Family at Play.9.28.15-4

The next day I found birds and OTTERS at Taylor Lake with friends Nancy and Mike.  A great finale to my birthday month!

*Fourth hiker on Trail to Tamanawas Falls.10.1.15

October opened with a hike to Tamanawas Falls with friends Holly, Rick & Dianne where we enjoyed glorious fall color.

Steider Studios.Bird Banding.10.9.15-7

Lucky me, invited to watch bird banding near St. Cloud Recreation area.

Steider Studios.Birding.Eagle Creek.10.11.15-7

The Gorge Bird Nerds took walks at Bingen Pond and Marina, Bonneville Fish Hatchery and Eagle Creek in October.

Steider Studios.Panther Creek Falls.10.12.15

A Waterfall Festival is what I called a day driving a big loop up to Trout Lake, across 90 to Carson and down to Hwy 14.  Dawn to dusk we were able to see 5 or 6 waterfalls ~ some were at the end of a hike & others were close to the road.

Steider Studios.Dry Creek Falls Hike.10.14.15-3

Two days later I hiked a small portion of the Pacific Crest Trail at Cascade Locks to Dry Creek Falls with friends.

Steider Studios.Pika from Hike.7.25.15

I took a friend in search of Pikas near Beacon Rock ~ another day with multiple stops and beautiful Columbia River Gorge landscapes!  I love these reclusive little critters that look like a cross between a bunny, and a squirrel with teddy bear ears.

…and in between I’ve been catching sunsets, birds in my garden and rescued kittens for Columbia Gorge Cat Rescue.  In upcoming posts I’ll tell you details of each adventure…..

AWS 2015 tour 6x4

OH!  Not to mention my upcoming art show ~ Art White Salmon’s Fall Tour!! Next weekend!!  October 23, 24, 25.  I’m limiting my shows this year, so this is one of only two opportunities for me to show off new work.

AWS New listing and map

Come see my new work and that of other talented local artist friends!

 

 

4 Responses to “A Month of Adventure”

  1. Coral Says:

    Oh Linda, so happy to see your new posting…I again feel you are giving me the tours I am not able to enjoy in real life…so through your eyes I do see new places to enjoy…thank you dear friend..


  2. My pleasure Coral, I’m happy to share!

  3. watnenamels Says:

    gorgeous photographs!


  4. Thanks so much Kathy! See ya this afternoon!


Leave a Reply

