Home

Conboy Lake NWR and Otters at Mill Pond

December 1, 2015

Steider Studios.Conboy Lake NWR Canal.11.16.15

Too few trips to Conboy Lake National Wildlife Refuge this season, I decided to take a drive up to the refuge in the shadow of Mt. Adams on a glum overcast day.

Steider Studios.Otters at Mill Pond.11.16.15-4

Not much moving around and close-to-freezing temperatures so I stayed in my car and drove over to Mill Pond where I found a couple of OTTERS (!!!) swimming and hunting.

Steider Studios.Otters at Mill Pond.11.16.15-2

I willed them to swim closer to me as I stayed quiet and low and my trigger finger clicked away.  I was so excited to see them this close.

Steider Studios.Otters at Mill Pond.11.16.15

Lo and behold they did!  They swam closer and closer and seemed as curious about me as I was about them.  Then I started wondering just how close would they get?  The front swimmer was filling up my frame. How close to shore were they?  What would they do if they climbed ashore?  What would I do if they climbed ashore?  They are after all wild animals!  

Steider Studios.Otters at Mill Pond.11.16.15-3

They must have sensed my … fear(?)…yes, it must have been fear … of the unknown.  They dove and swam away, but kept circling back, still checking me out.  I grabbed a few parting shots and then they were gone, across the pond.  What a thrill for me!  OTTERS!!  Did I say I was excited?  I was excited!!

Steider Studios.Laurel Roadl.11.16.15

Since my new friends left, I headed back to the refuge, but it was still quiet.  I think this was the last of our November fall color.  Even a quiet day is peaceful and comforting at Conboy Lake NWR.

As December enters and snow flies, I’ll keep adding more of my summer and fall adventures as well as the Winter return of our Bald Eagles and Tundra Swans!

 

2 Responses to “Conboy Lake NWR and Otters at Mill Pond”

  1. coral Says:

    again linda these were great…love those little guys you re so blessed to see them at their daily tasks…


Leave a Reply

