Home

Klickitat Wildlife Area

April 11, 2016

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-5

The Klickitat Wildlife area isn’t that well-known or used and I traversed it for the first time this past week.  It’s a vast wide open space about 5 miles northwest from the junction of Glenwood Hwy and Hwy 142.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16

The manager, Sue gave me a quick tour and as we drove in, our first sighting was a small group of deer jumping over a boundary fence.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-9

I specifically went there to find an Acorn Woodpecker after hearing about a pair seen in the area.  This snag is a good sign they’re here!

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-3

We saw Warblers flitting from branch to branch, so fun to watch.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-14

Several Robins warily watched us as we walked around a stand of oak trees.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-7

A couple of Western Bluebirds allowed us to view them before flying off.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-2

The view of Mt Adams is spectacular, but we did not see the elusive Acorn Woodpecker, so Sue & I parted ways after my morning tour.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-8

Of course I wasn’t satisfied ~ I knew the woodpeckers were there, so I went back.  An American Kestrel greeted me in the snag I stalked.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-6

With delight, I watched more Warblers catch bugs in flight, stopping to rest and even pose for me.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-4

It was a gorgeous warm spring day and as I watched a hawk fly overhead, getting my fill of little birds may have to be enough for now, I thought.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-10

Just as I was ever so close to giving up, look what landed in the snag!  I’m told Acorn Woodpeckers are a rare find in the state of Washington.  I felt such joy as I watched this little bird move from branch to branch with his ‘catch’.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-11

Unbelievably, moments later his mate landed at the top of the snag!  I concentrated on the new arrival and didn’t even notice the original woodpecker leaving until I saw this image later at home.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-13

The second Acorn Woodpecker stayed for about 20 minutes in the same place, then flew off just as suddenly as it had arrived.  I am one happy woman!

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-12

Three or four Turkey Vultures flew overhead to see me off as I headed back to my car.

Steider Studios.Klickitat Wildlife.4.8.16-15

A wonderful spot in Klickitat County, I’ll be heading back soon!  Thanks again to Sue for spending some time with me!!

4 Responses to “Klickitat Wildlife Area”

  1. Marion Wyman Says:

    Thank you so much. Beautiful!


  2. My pleasure, thanks for your compliment Marion!

  3. Katie Says:

    You are such a talented woman!


  4. Awwwww thank you Katie!


Leave a Reply

