Home

Worth It

July 28, 2016

Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16-3

I decided to take myself to the top of Angel’s Rest on this hot summer day.  I’ve been on the trail, searching for Pika with Cascades Pika Watch, but for various reasons never got to the top.  Above is the view looking west toward Portland.

Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16-2

I headed up the trail at 7:30am and arrived at the top just after 9.  I stopped here and there to catch my breath.  Watching for Pika along the way gave me ample reason for frequent stops.

Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16

It’s only 2.3 miles up but with an elevation of 1600 feet, it felt steeper (to me) than it probably is.  Heading back down I stopped for a snack in a likely place to see Pika.

Steider Studios.Pika at AngelsRest.7.28.16

They didn’t disappoint!  Unfortunately, I only had time for a couple of shots of this American Pika before a noisy trail-runner scared him off ~ I was hoping on a weekday I’d have a quieter hike, but alas it is summer and the trails were busy by mid morning.

Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16-4

Heading down I decided to stop at the stream that feeds Coopey Falls and found some stacked rocks that someone kindly left me.

Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16-5

A tiny bit further I followed a lesser trail to view the stream cascading over some rocks at the top of Coopey Falls.

Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16-6

Just beyond that is the last part of the stream near the top of the falls.  Any further downstream, I’d be tumbling in the waterfall (which is only accessible via private property).  Steider Studios.AngelsRest Hike.7.28.16-7

Back down at the trailhead at 11:30, I grabbed a shot of the sign, a memento of another fine day in the Columbia River Gorge.  Such a beautiful place to live and play!  It was definitely worth it!

4 Responses to “Worth It”


  1. Oh what great photos and what a wonderful day you had. I think Dan & I would enjoy that hike and the scenery! Wow. Plus the opportunity to see a cute Pika…so worth it. Thanks for sharing.


  2. In case you missed all the waterfalls along the Historic Hwy when you were here, they are all ‘must see’!!


  3. We did not have time during our last visit to see the waterfalls along that highway so it will go on our list of things to do the next time we are out there. Thanks Linda!


  4. Three major waterfalls and many behind the scenes on trails (most of which are fairly easy, but may be steep). Photographer’s paradise!!


Leave a Reply

