Home

Pika Love at Horsetail Falls

August 10, 2016

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16

Have I mentioned I love the American Pika?  Today I hiked around the Horsetail Falls area in the Columbia River Gorge, hoping to see these cute little critters.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-2

I overslept a bit so didn’t expect to see any since I arrived later than planned.  But LOOK, he popped his little head up as if to say “Here I am!”.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-4

I ended up seeing two and hearing at least 2 others in the distance.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-3

A couple of families stopped to ask what I was capturing with my camera and I think I convinced one kid playing Pokemon Go to seek out Pika instead of Poke!!

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-6

As long as I was above Horsetail Falls I decided to hike in to Ponytail Falls.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-7It was by now lunch time and a bit crowded, so I creatively eliminated people from my viewfinder.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-8From inside the cave….

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-11Heading back down the trail…

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-9Another beautiful day in the Columbia River Gorge…

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-10

I watched for more Pika all the way back down, but I think they were in Siesta Mode.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-5

I DID see a Robin!

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-13

Back at the bottom of the trail and surprised at how few people were gathered around Horsetail Falls, I grabbed a shot of it while there.  I look forward to comparing it to the shot I took in January when the falls were raging and ice formed along the rocks.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16-12

At the very bottom of the falls, the water level was low enough I could climb down the rocks and take a shot at creek level.

Steider Studios.Pika.Horsetail.8.10.16

Here’s my little Pika friend again for your enjoyment.  Did I already say I love these little critters?!

2 Responses to “Pika Love at Horsetail Falls”

  1. Pat Wittmann Says:

    Love your photos! And… The Pika is adorable.

    Date: Wed, 10 Aug 2016 23:56:25 +0000 To: pat.maas@hotmail.com


  2. Thanks so much Pat. and YES, they ARE, lol!


Leave a Reply

