Home

Sunday Drive

September 5, 2016

Steider Studios.Clouds and Blue Sky.9.4.16

I don’t enjoy crowds, so instead of hiking in the Columbia River Gorge or going to a waterfall on Sunday (a three-day holiday weekend), I took a drive.  Surprisingly I ended up at one of my favorite places, Conboy Lake National Wildlife Refuge.

Steider Studios.Rain Clouds.9.4.16

It was a lovely quiet day and felt like I had the entire place to myself!  The shot at top was looking east and this shot was looking west.  Sun on one side and rain on the other!

Steider Studios.Aspen Stand.9.4.16

After watching a bachelor of bucks close to home practice their rutting techniques the previous night, I was hoping to find elk doing the same.  Alas, no elk and very few birds revealed themselves to me.

Steider Studios.Red Dragonfly on leaf.9.4.16

Instead I found a ton of dragonflies!  I watched this one eat a bug!!

Steider Studios.Sulphur Butterfly on Aster.9.4.16

And a Sulphur finally let me capture it!  I can’t tell you how long I’ve chased these beautiful butterflies hoping for a picture!

Steider Studios.Song Sparrow.9.4.16

I did see several sparrows ~ I believe this is a Song Sparrow.

Steider Studios.VioletGreen Swallow in flight.9.4.16

Swallows are still filling the sky and I managed to capture this Violet-green Swallow in flight!

Steider Studios.Aspens.9.4.16

I entertained myself for a moment studying this stand of Quaking Aspen.

Steider Studios.Aspen Tops.9.4.16

From the top to bottom they are a magnificent tree.

Steider Studios.Aspen Bark.9.4.16

Just look at that beautiful bark!

Steider Studios.Bee on Aster.9.4.16

Speaking of magnificence, wildflowers abound on the refuge.  I’m not sure, but I think there were two bees sharing pollen in this aster.

Steider Studios.Solidago.Goldenrod.9.4.16

Goldenrod lit up some of the roads…..

Steider Studios.Bird's-foot Trefoil Wildflower.9.4.16

…interspersed with Bird’s-foot Trefoil.

Steider Studios.Meadowlark.9.4.16

I thought I heard a Western Meadowlark!   He pretended to not notice me as I pretended to not sneak closer to him.

Steider Studios.Meadowlark in twigs.9.4.16

He thought he was invisible and he almost was.  My camera had a hard time focusing through the branches so I had to give it a little help.  Yes, I can still focus manually!

Steider Studios.Pacific Wren.9.4.16

House Wren made a lot of racket as I chased some nearby butterflies.

Steider Studios.Sandhill Cranes in Flight.9.4.16

Sandhill Cranes are still roaming the refuge, but I only saw 6 all day long and they were in flight.

Steider Studios.Golden-crowned Sparrow.9.4.16

I think this is a Golden-crowned Sparrow, but it could be a juvenile White-crowned.  Help with ID is always appreciated ~ especially for sparrows, the ultimate of Little Brown Birds!

Steider Studios.Storm Clouds.9.4.16

As the afternoon wore on, dark clouds moved closer and a few spots of rain hit my dusty car.

Steider Studios.Red Dragonfly on grass.9.4.16

The dragonflies didn’t mind.

Steider Studios.Sulphur Butterfly on Ground.9.4.16

Oh look, another Sulphur resting long enough to let me watch him.

Steider Studios.Sandhill Crane Pair in Flight.9.4.16

As I thought about calling it a day I heard Sandhill Cranes calling from afar…

Steider Studios.Heron on Kreps Ln.9.4.16

…and watched a Heron crossing Kreps Lane ~ first time I’ve seen them in this area!

Steider Studios.Fall Color.Conboy.9.4.16

With the arrival of colorful foliage, I wish you a Happy September my friends.  I’ve had a magical summer and hope to stay at my computer long enough to tell you about it!!  One day soon…..I promise….I hope….maybe…..after my next adventure!

By the way, I’m now on Instagram, I hope you’ll follow me there!  Just look for Steider Studios!

4 Responses to “Sunday Drive”

  1. Coral Says:

    Linda dear first off ” late Happy Birthday” MN time..1215am. These were gorgeous. Love them all. Have not had too much to say lately due to my son’s StgIV Brain cancer..I think I told you he has 6 mo’s /less before it takes the final breath from him. He called me just a few minutes ago and said he had a large swelling on the left side of his throat and his throat was sore. Just overnight. He has 4 Brain Tumors. 2 in the frontal lobes basel stem tumor, bottom of the small Brain and 1 in the middle of his head. All of this since this Feb/Mar when they told him. Please pray and continue your wonderful work so we can leave all the worldly stress behind…love, Coral


  2. I’m so sorry Coral. We’re all here for such a finite amount of time. Love is all there is. xoxoxo

  3. Pat Wittmann Says:

    I love your photos. I go through them and it feels like I’m there. I love nature and your photos are perfect, gorgeous. Thank you for sharing.


  4. Thanks so much Pat, that is exactly my intention ~ taking you with me on a virtual nature adventure!


Leave a Reply

