Home

Mt Adams Wilderness Crofton Ridge

September 12, 2016

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16

I joined Friends of Mt. Adams for a hike on Crofton Ridge via the Shorthorn Trail on Saturday.  Our group met at the Trout Lake School for an early start.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-2

Led by Darvel Lloyd, who grew up climbing and exploring Mt Adams, it was a very educational hike.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-3

Our group of twelve headed up the Shorthorn Trail through burned forest from the 2012 Cascade Creek fire.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-5

Fascinated with the charred forest remains, contrasting with new growth I stopped for many photos.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-6

Can we call this ‘Fall Color’?

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-7

Although it is late in the season, many wildflowers are still in bloom.  I think this is a Pearly Everlasting.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-8

Looking back I was surprised to see Mt Hood.  We parked at an elevation about 4740 feet and would end up at 6227 feet after our 3 mile hike to the ridge.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-9

I believe this in the Lupine family.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-10

A beautiful bouquet of Asters.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-11

Crossing Shorthorn Creek.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-12

On the other side of the creek we found pink Monkeyflower.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-13

Another fork of Shorthorn Creek.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-14

Crofton Creek.  Looking up, I found a tiny waterfall!

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-15

Looking down the creek I felt amazed and awed….

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-16

When I looked UP from the creek I wondered if I could climb that hill.  See the tiny hikers at the top of the first switchback?  Hint…the dot of red.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-17

No, I’m not gasping for air….I’m stopping to take pictures!

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-19

This is where we’re heading.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-18

A vast landscape that takes my breath away, I could stand here for hours.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-20

Almost there at Round the Mountain Trail #9.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-21

The last section of our hike, the crest on Crofton Ridge.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-22

A spectacular view of Mt Adams from the southwest side.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-23

Looking west at Mt. St. Helens.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-24

As we sat and enjoyed our lunch, four Clark’s Nutcrackers joined us!

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-25

Zooming in on a waterfall from where we sat in the shade.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-26

Zoomed in on the almost uncovered lookout tower at the top of Mt Adams.  12,276′

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-27

Rested, nourished and hydrated we began our three mile descent.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-28

Use caution when heading downhill on a rocky sandy path.  I landed on my cushy backpack twice, but yay my camera landed on my lap!  Might as well take a picture of the view!!  Don’t worry, I wasn’t hurt but even more cautious as I continued.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-29

Trudging back down I pretty much kept my eyes on my footing and tried to keep up!  Oh look, another pretty wildflower!!  Fireweed.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-33

Yes, out of breath again I stopped for another pretty picture.  You know I love rocks!

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-30

I looked up from time to time (especially after we reached a gentler downhill section), still amazed at the charred remains of a once green forest.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-31

You know me, I can’t resist stopping for a ‘critter’.

steider-studios-mt-adams-wilderness-9-10-16-32

Darvel often stopped to discuss history, flora and fauna of the neighborhood.

Photo by Bob Squires

Photo by Bob Squires

I am so fortunate to have met and hiked with such an interesting and cohesive group of people.  Another wonderful September adventure!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

