Home

Camping at Goose Lake

October 9, 2016

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-9

This summer I invited myself along on a friend’s camping trip to Goose Lake in the Mt Adams Wilderness, with her two grandsons.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-13

This was my first camping experience (that I remember ~ my mom tells me we camped when I was a toddler) and I couldn’t wait to see sunset and sunrise over the lake without having to get up or get home at an ungodly hour.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-6

The boys brought fishing poles to catch our food, a BB gun to fend off wild animals in the wilderness, and a machete…I presume to clear a nice space for our comfort.  All but the fishing poles were abandoned as soon as they saw the lake!

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-11While waiting for sunset we watched a ‘mist’ of dust rise and fall as travelers drove the gravel road next to the lake.

steider-studios-goose-lake-sunset-8-26-16

When sunset arrived in front of our campsite, it was pretty nice!

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-15

Sunrise the following morning was quite beautiful as light overtook shadow.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-17

I was hoping to see a ton of wildlife, and made sure I was the first one on the lake after a brutally cold and nervous night’s sleep.  Between my husband’s 30-year-old worn out sleeping bag and a twig or branch crackling seemingly every few minutes I think I got 3 hours sleep max.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-18

Surrounded with golden light and a sweet little Sandpiper to entertain me in early morning solitude.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-20

As the sun rose higher I could hear campers stirring and looked for more photo opportunities before anglers or boats disturbed the lake.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-21

I found a family of Mergansers beginning their day.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-22

They chased each other back and forth…..

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-27

…and did a bit of their own fishing while humans launched boats into the lake.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-19

A little Junco serenaded me from a branch behind  my spot on the beach…

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-23…as did an American Dipper on the next rock over from where I sat.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-26

Did I already say the morning light was Golden?  Breathtakingly so!

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-28

As I headed toward sounds of the boys talking, a pair of Bald Eagles flew overhead.

steider-studios-goose-lake-logs-8-26-16I had to climb over a series of logs to get to where my friends were fishing for breakfast.

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-29

As I began my climb, I stumbled upon a pair of Crossbills!  Good reason to stop!!

steider-studios-goose-lake-fishing-8-26-16

Finally, I made it across the logs only to find we had no fish for our breakfast.  Luckily we brought a camp stove and eggs!!

steider-studios-fishing-goose-lake-8-26-16-35

Goose Lake is so beautiful and a perfect place for little boys to fish and dream about all the wilderness has to offer ~ hopefully they’ll take their children one day.

steider-studios-goose-lake-morning-8-26-16

It’s also a pretty nice place for a photographer to catch some lovely reflections!  I even heard a PIKA speak!!!  I must tell you, I didn’t like the part about no showers and the lake too cold to take a dip ~ but I loved being there at dusk, dawn, and every moment between.

4 Responses to “Camping at Goose Lake”

  1. cjflick Says:

    Where did you bird today (if you made it with Bird Nerds)?


  2. I didn’t go, wanted to spend time with my Algerian friend who’s heading home today! Looking forward to hearing of their adventure!!!

  3. Katie in NY Says:

    LOVE Camping! Wish I was there to see the beautiful area myself but your photos are the next best thing! Thank you.


  4. Thanks Katie! I did enjoy it & went back for more ~ went ‘glamping’ with another friend and will share that adventure in a future post!


Leave a Reply

