Home

Rare Bird Alert Washington State!

January 9, 2017

steider-studios-mt-adams-1-4-17-6

On Friday I took a little trip up to Trout Lake, at the base of Mt Adams to photograph a bird.

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-8

A RARE bird in Washington State.  I’m told this is only the second documented sighting in my state. EVER!

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-2

It’s a Gray-headed Junco hanging out at Jim & Kathy White’s feeders!  Kathy first noticed it on Jan 2 at their feeders with a flock of Dark-eyed Juncos.  It has come back each day, all week.

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-3

You know I had to invite myself to go up and see it!  Even if it didn’t show up for me, I HAD to take the chance, drive our snowy roads and maintain hope that it would grace me with its presence.

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-4

Local birding expert, Stuart Johnston went with me and to our delight the unusual bird showed up for us!!

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-5

As I well knew, my first shot through the window was not crispy clear.  I was going to have to photograph it outside if I wanted a decent shot.  I quietly exited the back door and peered around the corner, waiting and hoping this special bird would allow me to photograph him.

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-6

He did not disappoint.  Even with triple layers of clothing, double gloves, plus coat, hat, scarf, hand and toe warmers I could only stay outside for 10 to 15 minute intervals in the 10º temperature.

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17-7

Confirmed via email and photographic documentation ahead of my visit, from several top-level birding experts in Washington and Oregon the sighting still goes through a process within Washington Ornithological Society for it to be a valid sighting..

steider-studios-gray-headed-junco-1-6-17

Jim and Kathy have turned in a ‘Rare Bird Report’ to the Washington Ornithological Society and I’m proud to say they’re using my photos in addition to their own for documentation.

steider-studios-dark-eyed-oregon-junco-1-6-17

This is a Dark-eyed ‘Oregon’ Junco, the typical Junco we have in our area.  You can see how different they are from the Gray-headed.

~My first sighting of a Catbird last summer, Bohemian Waxwings in December, and now my first sighting of the Gray-headed Junco, Trout Lake is turning into BIRD Central!!~

4 Responses to “Rare Bird Alert Washington State!”

  1. Katie Says:

    Congratulations! Your photos are just as impressive as the rare bird is!

    It was 1 degree, this morning, in the artic Upstate are of NY!


  2. How wonderful that he cooperated and you were able to get these photos. Awesome!!!


  3. Oh brrrr Katie, that makes me grateful for 10º, lol.


  4. Yes, I was thrilled, Kathleen!!


Leave a Reply

