Home

Lower Klamath National Wildlife Refuge

May 22, 2017

Spring has been an amazing adventure that I can’t wait to tell you about, but first I want to finish this series from Klamath Falls…….After our last Winter Wings organized field trip, refreshed, refueled and nourished, my friend Nancy and I headed back to Lower Klamath NWR to see what we could find.

Such an amazing place…the East Cascades Audubon Raptor Survey coordinator told me that I’d want to live there after experiencing it.

He was partly right.  I can see that I’d be at the refuge constantly!

There were ducks and geese in every waterway we drove by…

It was fun to watch this set of Northern Shovelers taking off…

…and fly right in front of us….

…only to land even closer to us!  Aren’t they an interesting duck?   One of my faves.

Ruddy Ducks are so fascinating with those beautiful blue bills.

We also saw more Pintails close to the road as well as Buffleheads, Wigeons, and so many more.

We saw Northern Harriers everywhere…..

We stopped at the owl nest that Dick Ashford took us to and we found Mama sitting on the nest but could not see Papa anywhere.

We watched this Rough-legged Hawk for a little while….

…until he took off to grab a snack.

Not sure what he found, but we left him in peace to enjoy it!

My friend & I stayed to shoot the sunset, but alas it wasn’t as spectacular as the rest of our day had been.  Still, it’s a beautiful place with much to see.

The end of another fabulous day on a National Wildlife Refuge in Southern Oregon….

2 Responses to “Lower Klamath National Wildlife Refuge”

  1. cfortglass Says:

    Great photos!

    On Mon, May 22, 2017 at 7:11 AM, Steider Studios Blog wrote:

    > Steider Studios posted: ” Spring has been an amazing adventure that I > can’t wait to tell you about, but first I want to finish this series from > Klamath Falls…….After our last Winter Wings organized field trip, > refreshed, refueled and nourished, my friend Nancy and I headed” >

    Like


  2. Thanks Charlene!

    Like


Leave a comment