Home

Preview of Glacier Series, Shopping for Shops

October 3, 2010

My show at The Dalles Art Center opens Thursday evening, October 7th, where I’m premiering my new Glacier Series. The reception is from 5 pm to 7 pm on the 7th, and I’d love to see you there if you’re in the area.  My artwork along with Anthony Kiser’s and Scott Berger’s has been installed and runs through Oct. 23rd.

Many of you know that 1000 Markets has closed and I’ve been scrambling to find a replacement venue.  Our shops were transferred to Bonanza, for which I am grateful – uploading photos and descriptions, sizes and prices of every available piece of work can be tedious.  I’m not sure however, if Bonanza is a good fit for my work.  That’s where I temporarily parked my glass medium.  (Edit:  it’s now available at Artfire).  I plan to sell my other tools and supplies for glassworkers also that you may  have seen (and some of you have phoned to purchase) on my website.

After investigating price, ambience, ease of use, and what other artists are showing, I decided to try Artfire.  It has Art in it’s name – isn’t that a good thing?  And I can sell art supplies there.  One of the advantages to Artfire is I can have a kiosk on my Facebook Page!  After each long studio day this week I managed to get a front page open and upload a couple photos and descriptions.  As I said, this is tedious, even though it’s a simple copy & paste plus upload photos that are already cropped and sized.

Midweek I stumbled across a post in a 1Km Refugee forum that Zibbet had also imported all our shops like Bonanza did.  We have until Oct. 5th to open a shop there and utilize their import of our items.  I decided to jump in and try it & am so glad I did.  I think I’m going to love it.  The owner has already given me a new classification for my recycled glass wall pockets that didn’t fit any categories.

For now, I think I’ll leave the Bonanza shop up to see how it plays out, but my real comparison will be between Artfire and Zibbet.  Which of the three do you like best?  I’d love to have your feedback!

There are a couple other places I’d like to try out, but like everything else right now they’ll be on the  back burner waiting their turn.  Are you selling on-line?  Where?  Go ahead – plug in a link to your shop so everyone can see it in the comments section below.

Here are a few of those places I’m looking at, in the order that I’m going to take a closer look (if I ever have a spare moment again):

Cargoh

Big Cartel

Supermarket HQ

Rtist

Shop Handmade

Made it Myself

Craft is Art

I have signed up for Etsy also, but it didn’t seem intuitive to me.  It’s another one I will probably get back to.  Do you have recommendations or criticisms of any?

By the way, my banner for Bonanza was given to me by Alilbirdy2, another Bonanza member.  She thought my plain banner (the one I’m using for Zibbet) needed tweaking.  I used a combination of hers and mine for Artfire.  Not a graphic designer, I’m always appreciative of any help!

4 Responses to “Preview of Glacier Series, Shopping for Shops”

  1. Toni Says:

    Well, I’m not digging that Bonanza header with the floating hearts. I like your header much better. I was actually looking at Artfire yesterday for myself (and thought of you), but I’m too cheap to pay the monthly pro fee and then I couldn’t remember it after I got home. The Zibbet looks much more reasonable. I did notice you have a sale already on the Artfire site, so that’s a bonus point in its favor! I’ll be interested to see how you like the three after you’ve used them a while. Good luck, Linda!

    Like


  2. Thanks Toni, to be honest, that one sale is a spam/scam & I don’t know how to get rid of it. A problem with using 3 sites, is remembering how to use each one, lol! Let me know if you join one of them.

    Like

  3. ann Says:

    I recently joined Artfire and really like the site and the tools, but I was looking at Zibbet today so will be interested in how you get on there.

    I’m also on Etsy, but it is expensive by comparison.

    Good luck – I love your glass 🙂

    Like


  4. That’s good to know Ann, I didn’t want to have to pay to list, then continue to re-list. I like both A & Z so far, but learning curves with little available time leaves both shops not filling up very fast!

    Like


Leave a comment